Brie and Mushroom Phyllo Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I personally do not eat mushrooms, but I made these for Christmas Eve and they were gone in minutes. There were some changes though. I used white mushrooms, sauteed them with onions, garlic and sherry. This recipe would have been much too bland if it had been prepared according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made these once and didn't like the work that went into them so I bought the phyllo cups instead. I also added itallian sausage and instead of brie i used an itallian 5 cheese blend and melted it over the top. They were gone in seconds and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I make a recipe very similar to this one, but instead of taking the time to wrap them into phyllo triangles, I buy the pre-made phyllo tartlet shells. Then I simply fill them with the brie and the sherry-sauteed mushrooms and bake them for 5 minutes. So easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
These were a perfect side for our last women's tea party... I normally don't go for mushroom, but these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These were delicious! I made them for our Christmas party & they were the first things gone - and the garlic makes them so tasty, I don't know how anyone could rate them as bland! Instead of cloves of garlic, I used the fresh crushed garlic from the local grocer. I tried them the wrapped way & it was a bit time consuming, so the second batch I simply cut the phyllo into squares & put them in small muffin tins, put in the cheese & topped with the mushroom/garlic mixture. If your squares are big enough, you can still pinch the tops together, but even the ones we left open were beautiful & just as tasty. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These are yummy.Have made following recipe. I have used puff pastry to cut time were just as good made them easy to make cut, stuff ,seal with fork and egg wash and bake.Great with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was incredible!! Ok, I didn't follow the recipe to an absolute T. I figured any yummy mushrooms would do, so I used shiitake and morels. Also, I didn't have the time to fold phyllo into pretty triangles, so I just molded it into my pop-over thingy, layering with melted butter of course. What I came up with was "cups" rather than "puffs." Don't know if this was better tasting, but everyone "fought" over the last two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So, basically I'm lazy and instead of hassling with the phyllo I used frozen puff pastry sheets. I rolled them out a little bit flatter than they come originally and with a pizza cutter made small 3" squares. I put a small cube of brie (after freezing for about 20 minutes and cutting off the rind)onto the square, 1/2 teaspoon of the mushroom mix and sealed the triangle. I made them yesterday, froze them and put them in ziplock bags for my party next week. I baked a couple to test them and they're super yummie. I was afraid the garlic would be a bit much but it's perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These were very tasty, but too much butter between the layers of phyllo made them very rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These were absolutely delicious! I have never worked with phyllo before, so that was a bit of a challenge. I didn't wrap the appetizers as directed, instead I placed the mushroom mixture and brie in the center of a square of phyllo, then brouth it together at the top and pinched closed. But they turned out great. Time consuming, as was expected, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States