Brie and Mushroom Phyllo Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
great recipe...some spinach and green onion are nice additions...remember you can freeze these bad boys 2 weeks ahead of time if you want
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was the first time I ever worked with phyllo dough. It was a little difficult until I got the hang of it. This recipe made the extra work involved worth it! They had a very rich and wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I went for the adventure with the Phyllo dough and it really wasn't that difficult to use. They do tear very easily but if you are careful it works out just fine. I did think they had to much butter on them so next batch I will only put butter on the last fold. I had made some spinach balls earlier in the day and made some with the spinach ball filling along with the brie cheese and they were wonderful as well. Will definitely make again and now I am excited about all the wonderful things to try with phyllo dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Hmm... I made these to the letter (as best I could :) and was only slightly disappointed. Tasty, but every bite I took needed a little something more. Next time I will add more filling, or maybe spinach or a stronger cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
So, basically I'm lazy and instead of hassling with the phyllo I used frozen puff pastry sheets. I rolled them out a little bit flatter than they come originally and with a pizza cutter made small 3" squares. I put a small cube of brie (after freezing for about 20 minutes and cutting off the rind)onto the square, 1/2 teaspoon of the mushroom mix and sealed the triangle. I made them yesterday, froze them and put them in ziplock bags for my party next week. I baked a couple to test them and they're super yummie. I was afraid the garlic would be a bit much but it's perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was incredible!! Ok, I didn't follow the recipe to an absolute T. I figured any yummy mushrooms would do, so I used shiitake and morels. Also, I didn't have the time to fold phyllo into pretty triangles, so I just molded it into my pop-over thingy, layering with melted butter of course. What I came up with was "cups" rather than "puffs." Don't know if this was better tasting, but everyone "fought" over the last two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I had an issue with the Brie melting and running out of the puffs so there wasn't a lot of Brie left and didn't have the taste I would have expected. I missed the part in the recipe about turning them over half way through the baking time so this may have been the cause. I plan on trying the recipe again to see if I have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I sauted mushrooms in garlic and butter. As others suggested, cut puff pastry into squares and placed in muffin tins. Bottom layer was garlic heb feta cheese, then topped with mushrooms, cooked for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees. The bottom of puff pastry was a little soggy, I will try phyllo dough next time. The feta cheese added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sameera Azad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
The only thing I changed was adding some sherry to the mushroom mixture. With out this I think they would have been rather bland. They had a very nice presentation, but not super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These were absolutely delicious! I have never worked with phyllo before, so that was a bit of a challenge. I didn't wrap the appetizers as directed, instead I placed the mushroom mixture and brie in the center of a square of phyllo, then brouth it together at the top and pinched closed. But they turned out great. Time consuming, as was expected, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States