Brie and Mushroom Phyllo Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
tasty but have to be careful not to fill them up too much or else all the filling just pops right out. Phyllo was also difficult to deal with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Huge it at my christmas dinner! I used herbed brie inside the turnovers-excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These were a big hit at my mom's Christmas party. It was my first time working with filo and it was falling apart but I found that it's very forgiving, the shape doesn't have to be perfect to look good. The filling was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I added just a TB of red wine while cooking the mushrooms and garlic, otherwise followed the recipe. They turned out good, not great. The only thing I could taste at first was butter. I will make again but use half the butter in mushrooms and half the amount on the phyllo. I used the sheets, and started using 3 layers (instead of 2) half way through. The 3 layer phyllo turned out better, you could taste the brie and mushrooms better. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used the premade phyllo cups like a few others suggested. I also added sherry to the cooking mushrooms. This was fantastic. My husband is not a fan of brie and he really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These are delicious. I think using phyllo is worth it but only if you're comfortable working with phyllo and have the time. I used more brie in each than called for and I cut the stack of phyllo in half rather than into thirds just to make it easier to fold without the filling coming out. I also recommend 20 minutes at 350 - mine were a little darker than I would have liked. I will definitely use this recipe as a base for other variations in the future...brie + mango, or maybe as is + fresh tarragon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I LOVED this. My boyfriend's is in the hospital, so I made these for him (and me!). It was my attempt to impress the two men were staying in the same hospital room and their very Turkish and Greek families (with the typical grandmas who cook huge amounts of food for everyone), but we greedily finished them in the other room because they were so good we didn't want to share! :) I used sliced gouda cheese (one half slice on the bottom of the mushroom and one half on top) and regular button mushrooms because the shop was closed on Sunday, but they were still amazingly tasty. Be sure you roll or fold them tightly or else they 'leak' cheese and it gets hard on the baking tray. Mine took about 30 minutes in the oven and I forgot to turn them over but didn't notice at all until I re-read the recipe just now. :P I've never flipped byrek and it's always been fine. I used pre-cut triangle-shaped phyllo dough and it worked well- a different shape, but still tasted the same. Just a little more awkward to butter since I was taught in Albania never to let two pieces of dry phyllo dough touch each other. :) I'll certainly try this again with other vegetables and cheese as a way to use up leftover veg and the huge amount of phyllo dough that you get in one pack! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I'm all for less-than-healthful indulgences, but I did not care for this recipe. I love mushrooms, brie and phyllo dough, but these were just a buttery mess. The cheese "disappeared" and turned into liquid fat, coupled with all the butter from the dough. You picked one up and you had butter drizzling down your hand! Couldn't taste the really anything but the butter. Of 4 of us who tried them, no one was a fan. My first flop on a highly rated recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very tasty! I added a tad of sherry to the mushrooms. If I were to make this again, I would definitely opt for puff pastry or the phyllo shells since the wrapping was very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Fabulous! And it was even better a day or two later. I added my leftovers to pasta-which too turned out to be a nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States