Brie Cheese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made this as an appetizer when we had some friends over and it was a huge hit! I served it with Ritz crackers and everyone raved about it. Just a few suggestions: DO NOT FOLLOW THE ADVICE TO FREEZE THE BRIE! I did this and I couldn't have cut it straight if my life depended on it. It is much easier to cut just plain cold from the frig! Also, I couldn't find a Brie wheel at the store, so I had to buy a wedge. If using a wedge of Brie all you have to do is cut it in half (not length wise, but like you are cutting the narrow end off a triangle) and put the halves side by side in the pastry to make it like a square of brie. That makes it easy to fold up inside the pastry if using a wedge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Let me stress that this is not the fault of the submitter of the recipe!!! This was relatively easy to put together, even though I made homemade puff pastry since I didn't have any on hand. This was tastey, just incredibly greasy, though. So much so that I couldn't eat more than a bite, then I felt ill the rest of the evening from the grease of the cheese. Having never had brie before, though, I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm not going to make this again (though, let me stress, it was tastey). I think I'll stick to my regular cheddar cheese ball w/ strawberry preserves. Thanks, though, for a good tasting recipe, even if it's not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I love the preserves, but the last time I made this I used caramelized onions and it was delicious as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is very easy and tasty... I did add some diced jalepeno and finely chopped pecans in with the apricot. Beautiful presentation. I am looking forward to experimenting with other fillings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
GREAT flavor. Very easy. EVERYONE was impressed, even though they saw how simple it was to prepare! It was a hit! Use as much preserves as you want--the only recommendation I have is to make sure the pastry is sealed tightly around it so you don't have leaks. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I have to agree with most everyone else. This recipe is easy and amazing. I tried it with a few other preserves and it was great ! I used it for Thanksgiving and was told to make sure I brought it for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I love this recipe! I have had it many ways too. If you are having Italian food you can just use the brie and sprinle some italiam seasonings on it before you wrap it. For abreakfast pastry just use the brie and sprinkle it with brown sugar and pecans before closind thwe wrap! Different types of preserves are good too, like jalepeno jelly! Go crazy and try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe has gotten me more accolades from friends and family than any other that I have in my collection. It is an incredible dish for wine and cheese parties. The fruit cheese and pastry really brings out the flavors of white and medium body reds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Toro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Extremely easy to make, but looks and tastes like you went to alot of trouble. A huge hit as an appetizer for Christmas dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a super-big crowd please and so easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States