Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
No stone or flip? try this: Bake empty crust on cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 5 minutes. Remove, heat oven to 450 degrees. Add toppings to pizza. Cook directly on rack for 7 more minutes or until crust is golden and cheese is browned. Another hint... 1 - be sure to oil the dough liberally, this keeps it from crusting over which will make your stretch more difficult. 2 - You only get one chance to stretch it. Do not punch down dough or knead it after it rises or you will have to roll it. It does not have the same texture when rolled. Just pick it up and let it fall over your fists or widely stretched fingers until it starts to get thin. Then lay on an oiled cookie sheet dusted with corn meal. My favorite toppings are: alfredo sauce black pepper garlic powder fresh leaf baby spinach baby bella mushrooms black olives sliced roma tomatoes cooked chicken chunks YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I first made this about 3 years go, and it's still in my regular rotation. This is the perfect pizza crust! The dough freezes beautifully. I use crushed tomatoes usually. This is a phoenomenal recipe!01/13/11 UPDATE: I decided last minute to make this yesterday for dinner last night. I had 4 hours. I made the dough adding about 1/4 cup semolina for a little of the bread flour and adding a pinch of sugar to the yeast mixture. I left on the counter to rise for about an hour then moved to the garage (very cool there!) and left for 2 hours before bringing back to the kitchen for the last hour to warm up. It turned out fantastic. While the flavor may not be quite as full as an overnight rest, it's possible to make this same day and still have the same great crispy-chewy texture and very good flavor. DH said last night's was the best crust ever in fact! This recipe truly makes a superior crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This recipe works GREAT!! And, actually, there IS a reason for the long, 16 hour chilled rise... it allows the dough to "ferment" which REALLY adds to the flavor. DON'T wimp out and use the dough the same day... it will taste MUCH more authentic if you follow the directions as given... it can even go a little longer than 16 hours without a problem. Be sure to preheat your stone and oven for at least an hour... and to make the "brick oven" experience even better, I have a second stone on the rack above so that heat is generated from the top, too. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very good recipe. Overnight proof is required as this recipe does not use sugar to active the yeast. DO NOT skip this step; no matter what others say. I, like most, made certain changes to the dough to accomdate our needs: I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and one of all purpose (high gluten bread flour would have been to tough with the WW). I also mixed a teaspoon each of granulated garlic and mixed italian spices into the dough -- gives the dough a real nice twist. Also did a 50/50 mixture of hand-grated mozzarella and parmesan with a drizzle of EVOO at the end. The guests LOVED it; hope this helps -- enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymjk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I can delete all the other pizza recipes I have saved because this is my new go to! This is the real deal. The crust came out as perfectly as I could have hoped since no home oven is going to produce the same as a pizzeria. It is nice and thin with a chewy edge. I liked this so well I made extra and froze it so I will always have it on hand. I added crumbled hot sausage to the toppings. Thanks, CDM68!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I love how simple this recipe is!! I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 2 cups whole wheat flour. My boyfriend has always said he likes whole wheat, but whole wheat pizza is awful. He LOVED this and said I could make it anytime! I image it's even tastier with just white flour. It's great to know all the ingredients going into your food and make something like this from scratch. I do not have a Pizza Peel and had some trouble getting the pizza from my cutting board to the hot stone. On my second one, I ended up putting the dough on my stone after I stretched it out and assembling the pizza on the hot stone. I'm not necessarily recommending this, but it was a lot easier than when I tried to place the completed pizza on the stone. Also, I cooked mine at 400 for a longer time because I wasn’t sure my stone could handle 550.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Had a pizza stone for so long, and didn't realize pizza can taste so good. Just like or better than my local pizza place that makes brick oven pizza. Bakes quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is an easy to make pizza. Excellent crust. The fresh basil adds a unique flavor even when you top it with traditional salty toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Used only the pizza crust recipe and it was excellent. My husband said it was the best. The crust had a perfect texture. It was better than the pizza from the local pizzeria. We both said we may never buy pizza out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Excellent. I have tried many pizza dough recipes, but for NY-style pizza, this one is the best! Also, there is NO reason to put the dough in the fridge and let it rise for 16 hours. 1 to 1.5 hours in a warm place is plenty of time for it to rise. I was very skeptical at first, since this is the FIRST pizza dough recipe I've encountered that didn't have sugar or oil in it. But it really tastes different! It's chewy, and the crust is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCDONAL86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States