Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have tried so many pizza crust recipes now, I'm getting disgusted. Being originally from NY I prayed this would be The One. I'm not done searching yet. My only problem is the size. Three cups of flour, IMO, is not enough to make TWO 14-inch crusts. The first one "rolled" out to be about 8-10 inches, which was very disappointing, but it tasted AWESOME. The second one I rolled out to 14 inches and it was so thin in the middle it fell apart. Based on taste this recipe is great, but next time I will use my Kitchenaid and find a recipe that uses a good 6 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
this dough was so easy to make and it was the best pizza recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Amazing! If you like thin crust pizza this is it. I'm done trying other crusts!!! Now that I've made it a couple of times--try baking the crust, let it cool, top with your favorite toppings, wrap tightly and freeze. You can fill the freezer with awesome pizza with just a couple hours work. Cheaper and healthier than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe blows every other pizza dough recipe I've ever used out of the water! It felt like I was eating pizza from a restaurant right at home! The crust was super crispy and the toppings were a perfect match! Thanks for my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I doubled the crust portion of this recipe for our Superbowl party. Because this was the first time making it, I made a large pan of baked rigatoni as a back-up...just in case. The recipe couldn't be simpler. I made it the night before and took out the dough about an hour before everyone arrived. My husband couldn't get over the fact that we didn't have to let the dough rise on the counter, punch it down, knead it out, let it rise again. He was sure it wasn't going to work. I don't have a pizza stone, and couldn't imagine how I could preheat the pans while I was making the pizzas, so I just made them right on the pizza pans. The kids at the party were thrilled to help with the toppings and we cooked them at 550 for 9-10 minutes, on un-preheated pans. The crust came out crunchy and the flavor was marvelous. They were such a hit, the rigatoni was hardly touched!! Everone asked for the recipe. We will definitely make this again. Next time I'll try using the toppings given in the recipe. Thanks for a great new addition to our menu!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Awesome recipe. I'm very picky about pizza crust and have tried many recipes over the years. This tastes totally authentic. Very simple and economical too. I made a triple batch and now I'm glad that I did. (I froze four pizza balls and will use them later.) I let the dough rise in the fridge for the first day and then pulled it out the morning of the second day, since I was going to be gone and wanted it ready when I arrived home that evening. It fermented a bit longer than 16 hours with no problems. I used cornmeal on my peel instead of flour. I also used a cup of all purpose flour mixed with the bread flour. I baked it on a stone that had been heated for an hour and it was delicious! This is my new go-to thin crust pizza recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
LOVE this dough recipe. Very tasty and easy to make. My only complaint is that I followed the recipe exactly and both times I've made it, I've gotten no rise out of the dough. Is it really only 1tsp of yeast? Or is it supposed to be 1pkg? Next time, I'm going to use 1pkg instead of 1tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe is fantastic... we are not huge bread bakers, and other pizza dough recipes have never turned out right. We have been buying dough from the local market, but with this recipe we never will again. Make sure the water temperature is exactly what the yeast specifies - use a thermometer! Once it rests in the fridge overnight, you're ready to go. We top ours with all kinds of things - with this dough as the base, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
If you're a thin crust pizza lover then this recipe is it!!! Didn't think we'd get to taste anything like this again until our next trip to NYC. Used the Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site and followed another reviewer who recommended using parchment paper instead of a peel when baking on the pizza stone. Don't be surprised when the dough doesn't rise in the refrigerator--no sugar to feed the yeast so there is no carbon dioxide production. It doesn't matter though because it tastes fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I used half organic white flour and half whole wheat--the texture and flavor were both good and it was not heavy. Nice to have a healthy alternative to store-bought pizza, even if it takes more planning ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States