Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I used half organic white flour and half whole wheat--the texture and flavor were both good and it was not heavy. Nice to have a healthy alternative to store-bought pizza, even if it takes more planning ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This dough is amazing, and leaving it in the fridge overnight is a great suggestion. This is going to be my staple recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is for the crust only, but it was the best crust I have ever had. My husband and I both can not believe how good it is. We used a different homemade sauce, pizza sauce II from this site tweaked just a little bit; and it was absolutely perfect. I will now keep this crust in the fridge and ready to go from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This turned out very well. I do not know if the "flavor" was that much better because it developed in the fridge over 16hrs... But it was still a nice and crispy/chewy crust. I do not that I would spend the extra time to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
The best pizza I have ever made, I couldn't wait 16 hours to try so used the dough after 8 hours. I put pizza sauce on the base, then added sliced mushrooms,onion,red pepper and bacon,then topped with mozzarella, dried red chilli flakes and drizzled with olive oil, crust was crispy but not hard....fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Who knew that making pizza at home could be this easy and taste this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFAHRION

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is the BEST pizza dough I have ever made. It came out thin and crispy and foldable-just like in the NY style pizza shops! I make it every week-I make it with homemade marinara sauce, picante provelone cheese from the deli and top it with garlic salt-you will never order delivery again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I've never had Brooklyn style pizza so I can't compare, but it was very good. Used my own sauce recipe and used shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This rating is for the crust. I followed the reciped exactly as written and it was really good. I bought a baking stone stone and a pizza peel. I used a combo of flour and corn meal on the peel and the pizza slid right off onto the stone. This is the best homemade pizza crust I have found. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Crust is good & have made several times. (5 star for that) The topping is ok, & would probably use during the winter months when fresh tomatoes aren't that great here. We prefer fresh tomatoes sliced, provolone & mozzarella cheese, lots of fresh basil & fresh oregano, with olive oil drizzled over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States