Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is an easy to make pizza. Excellent crust. The fresh basil adds a unique flavor even when you top it with traditional salty toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This pizza was awesome! I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour, and it was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My family really enjoyed this pizza, I cooked it as directed but used whole wheat flour. We got a crispy crust on edges but was chewy towards middle of pizza possible due to the whole wheat but I think it was worth it. We made one with thin ham and pineapple, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this on my grill using a grill pizza stone I got from Crate and Barrel and it came out amazing! My backyard smelled like a pizzaria and my sons and husband wanted more than I made. Like others, I used AP flour instead of bread flour and the crust was perfect. I also docked my dough with a fork to ensure it got crusty and cooked through, which worked wonders. Definitely a keeper especially on the grill in the summer to keep the kitchen cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This crust was definately restaraunt quality! I would say even better! My oven does not go past 500-So, I did cook it longer. Try the exquisite pizza sauce on this site-- It is awesome too- like another reader suggested! A gourmet pizza for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
LOVE this recipe. I drain my tomatoes to make them less "soupy," and cook the crust on a crisping pizza sheet. Have recently used the recipe to grill pizza. Cut each ball in half and roll thin to make "individual" pizzas. Cook according to this allrecipes video on grilling pizza. Amazing. Just had the Moms over for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit. My Mother-in-law declared that it should be a tradition. Bonus was that that the kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I love this crust! It's the best! I don't have a pizza stone, so I cook it on my pizza pan at 425 degrees f for 20 minutes... awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I lived on Long Island til a few years back. No one anywhere in the country except in that region knows what pizza really tastes like. Presently I live in Louisville Ky and let me tell you something...the pizza that is served up here sucks. If you want good elastic pizza dough...get a bread machine. This was a pretty good recipe. I made calzone with it added extra mozzerella and riccotta cheese. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very tasty, a little too chewy on the outside though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Best crust EVER!! The crust was crispy and tender and the taste was just right. Will use only this recipe when making pizza at home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States