Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My crust turned out thin, crisp on the outside, chewy inside--perfect! I love that it rises in the fridge and doesn't require kneading. Best recipe I've found on this site or elsewhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Though this pizza was made in my wood fired oven. Following the directions below makes an excellent pizza indoors. Just be sure and get your oven and stone pre-heated. I pre-heat indoors for at least 50 mins. This is a very nice recipe. I made changes to sauce. I also use a dough recipe I like that has an overnight ferment for added flavor. Added garlic minced to the sauce with San Marzano tomatoes and baked in my wood fired oven. If you have trouble handling pizza dough directly on a peel. Just use parchment paper under your pizza. Top it and slide it into the oven from the back of a pizza paddle or a cookie sheet if you don't have a paddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I thought it was odd that it said to refridgerate and nothing about setting it out to rise...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mo_lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is the best pizza crust recipe I have tried, and I have tried MANY. I made the recipe exactly as written, and it was a hit with the entire family. Love this pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have been using allrecipes for years, but never rated a recipe before. This pizza prompted me to sign up so I could rate it. LOVED this pizza...followed the recipe to the letter for one pizza, for the second pizza I used the crust added my own toppings. Both were excellent and the crust was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Wow! The crust is AMAZING (and I grew up around the corner from an old-school NY pizzeria)! Used a bit more (8-12oz) cheese though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Surprisingly very good. I thought the simple ingredients might not have a lot of taste, but I was wrong. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is the pizza dough I've been waiting for! I've tried lots, and this is the "keeper". I have to admit that I let my bread machine do the kneading, then form it into a ball, coat it with olive oil, and pick up the recipe at step 2. (By the way, I've made the dough as far in advance as 36 hours and kept it in the fridge, with fine results; in fact, I think the crust flavor was better the longer it sat.) Because I don't have a pizza peel (maybe for Christmas?) I used a well-oiled pizza pan (without a "lip" on it and let the crust par-bake for 5 minutes, before sliding it off the pan onto the hot rack. Worked great! (I have a gas oven that does, in fact, go up to 550.) Now, onto the toppings...! I just could *not* figure out what our favorite restaurant was using for their pizza sauce, but I loved it. Apparently, it was just as this recipe describes - no sauce at all, just the cheese, crushed tomatoes, pepper, oregano, oil, and basil. Don't mess with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The best pizza dough I have ever made -- SO flavorful, even if you substitute whole wheat dough as other reviewers have suggested. I spend a lot of time in New York, and am very happy that I am no longer victim to living in a bad pizza city now that I have this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I just used the recipe for the dough. It was the best dough I've made and it was so easy. It's the only way I will make dough moving forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States