Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Fabulous crust, and I even cheated. Used one cup whole wheat flour (couldn't taste it in the crust, which is a bonus) and 2 cups all purpose (didn't have bread flour). Mixed yeast and water. Let sit for 5 minutes. Then I just threw all ingredients in the bread maker (dough setting) and came back to it 3 hours later. Rolled out easily. I can't imagine how much better it could taste if I actually followed the directions. One day I will try, just didn't have time today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe is very good and easy to make. By far the best homemade pizza crust I've had. I used different toppings but the crust is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
If anything, the idea of putting pizza stone on lowest rack and oven set to 550 is what does the trick. The crust is fabulous too though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This has become our favorite crust recipe. I cook the pizza on a pizza stone and it comes out perfect everytime. Just a little tip that I have found helpful- I use corn meal instead of flour on my peel to help the pizza slide off smoothly,it also tastes better- when I used flour I did not like the flour taste that resulted from the flour that stuck to bottom of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This crust and pizza was awesome. However, my pizza stone can apparently not tolerate 550 degrees. It made my whole house smokey and smell awful for 3 days, despite that, it tasted fantastic. I will use a regular pizza pan next time and hope it tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
very good!! but i didnt use a brick oven..i just used a conventional oven and it was pretty good..will try something different next time though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
i had some trouble with the transfer to the pizza stone, but this was thin! with my freshly made tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese and chopped prosciutto this was awesome. will try to do better on the transfer on next batch that is currently in the freezer. thanks for the post CDM68!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Amazing! Best pizza I have ever made. I don't have the pizza stone or peel so it was a little more difficult to slide pizza into the oven. I used a stainless steel cookie sheet. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Yum! This made a very crisp crust, which I've been looking for, for a long time. I've been using wheat flour and not getting the results I want, but the bread flour was just the ticket. I made my own sauce in the food processor: 1 14oz can of diced tomatoes (drained), and 1 tsp each garlic salt, dried oregano and dried basil. I was conservative with the cheese and sauce so the crust would be crunchy, but next time, after the crust has crisped up, I'll add a little more of each. Just a note, I know at 550, my stone will burn my crust, so I kept the temp at 400 and after 5 mins, turned the pizza around halfway, and after another 3-4 mins I put it on the rack above off the stone for 3 minutes. I pulled it out and let it sit on the stone for about 5 minutes to finish crisping. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Simply the best. We've made this for family and friends, they all beg for the recipe. We make the crust with whole wheat flour and it is still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States