Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Used only the pizza crust recipe and it was excellent. My husband said it was the best. The crust had a perfect texture. It was better than the pizza from the local pizzeria. We both said we may never buy pizza out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly except i used italian stewed tomatoes and put the basil on before putting it in the oven...this looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I first made this about 3 years go, and it's still in my regular rotation. This is the perfect pizza crust! The dough freezes beautifully. I use crushed tomatoes usually. This is a phoenomenal recipe!01/13/11 UPDATE: I decided last minute to make this yesterday for dinner last night. I had 4 hours. I made the dough adding about 1/4 cup semolina for a little of the bread flour and adding a pinch of sugar to the yeast mixture. I left on the counter to rise for about an hour then moved to the garage (very cool there!) and left for 2 hours before bringing back to the kitchen for the last hour to warm up. It turned out fantastic. While the flavor may not be quite as full as an overnight rest, it's possible to make this same day and still have the same great crispy-chewy texture and very good flavor. DH said last night's was the best crust ever in fact! This recipe truly makes a superior crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I love how simple this recipe is!! I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 2 cups whole wheat flour. My boyfriend has always said he likes whole wheat, but whole wheat pizza is awful. He LOVED this and said I could make it anytime! I image it's even tastier with just white flour. It's great to know all the ingredients going into your food and make something like this from scratch. I do not have a Pizza Peel and had some trouble getting the pizza from my cutting board to the hot stone. On my second one, I ended up putting the dough on my stone after I stretched it out and assembling the pizza on the hot stone. I'm not necessarily recommending this, but it was a lot easier than when I tried to place the completed pizza on the stone. Also, I cooked mine at 400 for a longer time because I wasn’t sure my stone could handle 550.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Awesome recipe. We brushed a little bit of olive oil around the edges to give it a bit of color. We do not order from our local pizza place anymore! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Excellent. I have tried many pizza dough recipes, but for NY-style pizza, this one is the best! Also, there is NO reason to put the dough in the fridge and let it rise for 16 hours. 1 to 1.5 hours in a warm place is plenty of time for it to rise. I was very skeptical at first, since this is the FIRST pizza dough recipe I've encountered that didn't have sugar or oil in it. But it really tastes different! It's chewy, and the crust is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCDONAL86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Used half whole wheat flour in the dough. Used fresh tomatoes and canned--both were great. My pizza stone did not like being preheated that hot so had to do things a little different but was excellent and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Love. love. LOVE the crust. I made two small pizzas. Baked on my pizza stone and they came out perfectly. Be careful not to take out of the refrigerator for too long before using--the dough is pretty soft and my first disintegrated as I transferred it to the stone. The layering of tomato sauce didn't quite work for me--instead of mixing with the cheese it just kind of sat on top. It was yummy anyway, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Ridiculously good! A bit intimidating for a first time pizza maker, but I was able to do it no problem. And without a stone (although perhaps will invest now)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcplaywright

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic! So simple and delicious. It was very easy to make and the dough is wonderful to work with. No more "delivery" or "frozen" pizzas allowed in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLINACAT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States