Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Had a pizza stone for so long, and didn't realize pizza can taste so good. Just like or better than my local pizza place that makes brick oven pizza. Bakes quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This was an easy and tasty meal - the kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was a nice crust the whole family loved! I liked how simple it was to make, and it stored in the fridge in a plastic container for 3 days before baking,just fine. The first one I baked, I didn't have a pizza stone, so it took longer to cook. The second one I made on a newly purchased stone, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sewall Bossart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
finally i found the way to make thin and tasty-puffy pizza dough. thanks a lot for sharing your great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This really turned out well. However, we only used the pie crust, and not the sauce, that is why I gave the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Great pizza! I didn't change the recipe. I used fresh mozzarella cheese from Trader Joes. It was wonderful. Kids and hubby ate them both up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
truly unremarkable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Used only the pizza crust recipe and it was excellent. My husband said it was the best. The crust had a perfect texture. It was better than the pizza from the local pizzeria. We both said we may never buy pizza out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I first made this about 3 years go, and it's still in my regular rotation. This is the perfect pizza crust! The dough freezes beautifully. I use crushed tomatoes usually. This is a phoenomenal recipe!01/13/11 UPDATE: I decided last minute to make this yesterday for dinner last night. I had 4 hours. I made the dough adding about 1/4 cup semolina for a little of the bread flour and adding a pinch of sugar to the yeast mixture. I left on the counter to rise for about an hour then moved to the garage (very cool there!) and left for 2 hours before bringing back to the kitchen for the last hour to warm up. It turned out fantastic. While the flavor may not be quite as full as an overnight rest, it's possible to make this same day and still have the same great crispy-chewy texture and very good flavor. DH said last night's was the best crust ever in fact! This recipe truly makes a superior crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Used half whole wheat flour in the dough. Used fresh tomatoes and canned--both were great. My pizza stone did not like being preheated that hot so had to do things a little different but was excellent and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States