Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Good flavor and so easy to work with! Next time I will add some garlic and/or Italian Seasoning to the dough. Really good and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have made this recipe twice now. The only difference is that I put the ingredients in my breadmaker under the dough setting. Dough did not rise in the breadmaker. Took it out and followed the directions by putting it in the fridge for 16 hours, though I did leave it in there a little longer perhaps 19 hours, but it came out nice and crispy both times...This is my new way of making pizza. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
HOLY MOLY!!!! I've tried many recipes for homemade dough and they've never come out anything close to authentic NY thin crust (I'm a displaced New Yorker.) This is the first one I've seen with the long process of "cold fermentation" of the yeast - but that is the absolute secret to this incredibly crisp yet chewy masterpiece!! I will use this dough recipe for all of my pizza's going forward. If you're trying it FOLLOW THE STEPS EXACTLY - DO NOT SKIMP on the 16 hours time. It's so worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe is AWESOME! I tried it with whole wheat flour too. Great! I wish I had known about this a long time ago! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this w/ fresh homemade diced tomatoes and it was AMAZING! In spite of 90+ temps in my house and somehow breaking my pizza stone in the process it was totally worth it. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was a good recipe. I'm not o fan of crushed tomatoes. The second time I made it I used tomato sauce (NOT pizza sauce) which I liked so much better. I'm trying to duplicate a simple pizza from a local bakery that closed a few years ago. It is the same, so I will try more recipes. The dough was good but for me it takes too long. Often I decide in the a.m. that I want to make it for last minute impromtu dinner & am forced to use a different crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Was looking for a good brick-oven pizza to try in our kamada grill when I found this! My family loved it and agreed was best pizza crust ever. This dough was so EAST to make, I can't beleive I've never tried homemade dough before. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Man, this crust is so great! Followed the crust part of the recipe exactly. Except that it ended up rising around 24 hours, but it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This Recipe Is Realy Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I like my pizza dough from the bread maker WAY better! Less work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States