Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Very good pizza, tastes like it's from a deli! I did not have a pizza stone, but baked it on a pizza pan for 7-8 minutes on 500 degrees, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
So good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very good recipe. Overnight proof is required as this recipe does not use sugar to active the yeast. DO NOT skip this step; no matter what others say. I, like most, made certain changes to the dough to accomdate our needs: I used 2 cups whole wheat flour and one of all purpose (high gluten bread flour would have been to tough with the WW). I also mixed a teaspoon each of granulated garlic and mixed italian spices into the dough -- gives the dough a real nice twist. Also did a 50/50 mixture of hand-grated mozzarella and parmesan with a drizzle of EVOO at the end. The guests LOVED it; hope this helps -- enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymjk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is the best pizza recipe! I made it for my husband and his friends for their poker night and now i get requests for it constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSheckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I've made this pizza on several occasions and every one has turned out perfectly. My husband and I will never go back to delivery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
No stone or flip? try this: Bake empty crust on cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 5 minutes. Remove, heat oven to 450 degrees. Add toppings to pizza. Cook directly on rack for 7 more minutes or until crust is golden and cheese is browned. Another hint... 1 - be sure to oil the dough liberally, this keeps it from crusting over which will make your stretch more difficult. 2 - You only get one chance to stretch it. Do not punch down dough or knead it after it rises or you will have to roll it. It does not have the same texture when rolled. Just pick it up and let it fall over your fists or widely stretched fingers until it starts to get thin. Then lay on an oiled cookie sheet dusted with corn meal. My favorite toppings are: alfredo sauce black pepper garlic powder fresh leaf baby spinach baby bella mushrooms black olives sliced roma tomatoes cooked chicken chunks YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is the best pizza crust recipe I've found. I've been making pizzas for over 10 yrs. as the only delivery in our area is Dominos, which my husband doesn't care for. I've lost count of how many dough recipes I've tried..some basic, some very involved. A few were fairly good, some downright awful. This one is easy and makes a delicious crust every time. I switched one cup all purpose flour for one cup bread flour and added 1/4 tsp. garlic powder to the crushed tomatoes. After the dough is formed, I brush on a little olive oil, spread the sauce, sprinkle with dried oregano and grated cheese, then top with mozzarella cheese and drizzle a little olive oil over the top. This is so good my husband would have it every night of the week if it were up to him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was great. Dough sat for almost 2 days & the flavour was fantastic! I don't have a peel, so I made the pizza on parchment paper and then slid it on to pizza stone, this worked great. Will be making this often & will try to freeze dough as other reviewer suggested. Thanks to the submitter as I wont have any more less-than ordinary pizza deliveries :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The flavor of this crust is excellent - but my stone broke in the process! I had a Pampered Chef round Pizza Stone and the 2nd time I used it for pizza, it cracked right in half while putting the crust onto the hot, preheated stone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanitele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This recipe works GREAT!! And, actually, there IS a reason for the long, 16 hour chilled rise... it allows the dough to "ferment" which REALLY adds to the flavor. DON'T wimp out and use the dough the same day... it will taste MUCH more authentic if you follow the directions as given... it can even go a little longer than 16 hours without a problem. Be sure to preheat your stone and oven for at least an hour... and to make the "brick oven" experience even better, I have a second stone on the rack above so that heat is generated from the top, too. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States