Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is the best pizza crust recipe I have tried, and I have tried MANY. I made the recipe exactly as written, and it was a hit with the entire family. Love this pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have been using allrecipes for years, but never rated a recipe before. This pizza prompted me to sign up so I could rate it. LOVED this pizza...followed the recipe to the letter for one pizza, for the second pizza I used the crust added my own toppings. Both were excellent and the crust was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Wow! The crust is AMAZING (and I grew up around the corner from an old-school NY pizzeria)! Used a bit more (8-12oz) cheese though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Surprisingly very good. I thought the simple ingredients might not have a lot of taste, but I was wrong. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is the pizza dough I've been waiting for! I've tried lots, and this is the "keeper". I have to admit that I let my bread machine do the kneading, then form it into a ball, coat it with olive oil, and pick up the recipe at step 2. (By the way, I've made the dough as far in advance as 36 hours and kept it in the fridge, with fine results; in fact, I think the crust flavor was better the longer it sat.) Because I don't have a pizza peel (maybe for Christmas?) I used a well-oiled pizza pan (without a "lip" on it and let the crust par-bake for 5 minutes, before sliding it off the pan onto the hot rack. Worked great! (I have a gas oven that does, in fact, go up to 550.) Now, onto the toppings...! I just could *not* figure out what our favorite restaurant was using for their pizza sauce, but I loved it. Apparently, it was just as this recipe describes - no sauce at all, just the cheese, crushed tomatoes, pepper, oregano, oil, and basil. Don't mess with it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The best pizza dough I have ever made -- SO flavorful, even if you substitute whole wheat dough as other reviewers have suggested. I spend a lot of time in New York, and am very happy that I am no longer victim to living in a bad pizza city now that I have this recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I just used the recipe for the dough. It was the best dough I've made and it was so easy. It's the only way I will make dough moving forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is an easy to make pizza. Excellent crust. The fresh basil adds a unique flavor even when you top it with traditional salty toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This pizza was awesome! I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour, and it was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My family really enjoyed this pizza, I cooked it as directed but used whole wheat flour. We got a crispy crust on edges but was chewy towards middle of pizza possible due to the whole wheat but I think it was worth it. We made one with thin ham and pineapple, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States