Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is our fav dough. Sliced cheese did not work for me, mixed shredded cheese w/the sauce, saving some for the top. I use half bread/all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Wasn't crazy about this pizza crust, the flavor was ok, but while heating my stone in the oven it started smoking, and when I took it out it smelled burnt. Also, I really need to invest in a pizza peel to do this crust properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Very good. I didn't do the 16 hour rise. I just mixed and kneaded the dough, and let it rise for 3 hours (it was about 71 degrees in the house, and the cold water slowed the rising). My oven only goes to 500 degrees, so I baked it a little longer. I also added veggies on the pizza, and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Will make again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
GREAT!!! This is by far the best pizza dough recipe I have tried and, I have tried several.My search is over I started not to try this recipe because,the picture on the recipe page does not do the recipe any justice at all.I baked it on my stone and the crust was so crispy and very tasty.My family LOVED it,Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is the best pizza I have ever made. I bought a baking stone and pizza peel just for this recipe! We will be having this every week from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Excellent. I have tried many pizza dough recipes, but for NY-style pizza, this one is the best! Also, there is NO reason to put the dough in the fridge and let it rise for 16 hours. 1 to 1.5 hours in a warm place is plenty of time for it to rise. I was very skeptical at first, since this is the FIRST pizza dough recipe I've encountered that didn't have sugar or oil in it. But it really tastes different! It's chewy, and the crust is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCDONAL86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic! So simple and delicious. It was very easy to make and the dough is wonderful to work with. No more "delivery" or "frozen" pizzas allowed in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLINACAT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Ridiculously good! A bit intimidating for a first time pizza maker, but I was able to do it no problem. And without a stone (although perhaps will invest now)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcplaywright

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly except i used italian stewed tomatoes and put the basil on before putting it in the oven...this looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Awesome recipe. We brushed a little bit of olive oil around the edges to give it a bit of color. We do not order from our local pizza place anymore! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States