Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a perfect Brooklyn Pie recipe...thank you very much for developing and posting it. My wife and I both enjoy Brooklyn pies and we have had some amazing ones especially around the North Jersey area. I have always made my own pizza, breads, sausages, beer, etc. and have been looking for a while for a Brooklyn pie recipe that even came close to what we were getting in those pizzerias. Until now, we were not pleased with the results at all. The biggest problem was the dough. We just could not find a recipe that created that crispy, cracker thin dough we enjoy so much. As soon as this one came out of the oven, though, we knew this one was a winner and when we ate it, well, that just sealed it! I did add a kiss of garlic...about 5 cloves, and I will tweak this to our likes, but it is the perfect base recipe for a make at home Brooklyn Pie! FYI...One thing I do to get the crust even thinner is to roll it out to about 12", put it on a small peel and put it in the oven for 20 minutes (oven off but with the oven light on)and let it rise a bit there. Then I take it out, roll and stretch it to 14", put it on the big peel then assemble and bake. Great stuff...thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve A

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
GLORIOUS!!! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Swingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosemary Pavone
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Wonderfully easy!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Pavone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
SO easy SO good. I made this for friends and it was quickly gone. I followed the recipe as instructed. The second time i started to alter it. I had extra hot Italian sausages left over so i quartered them and and rolled them into the edges to have a stuffed crust style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used the dough recipe only and it was very good. I've tried other dough without sugar and wasn't as pleased with them as I was with this one. Will make this again. The cold rise worked well and the crust was airy and browned very nicely in 8-9 min. with healthy portions of topping on a bakng stone pre-heated for 1 hour at 550º. A 2-topping pizza was done in 6-7 min. I had some leftover dough that I chose to freeze and will update this comment when I use it. I thawed the dough, on the counter, one week later in the plastic containers I froze it in. I did not remove the lids. It took approximately 6 hrs. for the dough to come to room temp. It was just as soft and workable as it was the day I made it. Also tasted just as good. I'll definitely make extra again and freeze it to avoid a weekly dough making mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djc1954

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Haters! !!! Hasn't your mother ever told you if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Perfect,but needed a pinch of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This Pizza was amazing!! Make sure you flour the pizza peel well in prior to stretching dough. My family was amazed when I pulled these two pizzas from the oven. I will never buy pizza again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This dough is amazing and so simple! The longer it's in the fridge, the better it tastes! I use it for pizza, cinnamon rolls, and making bread/rolls. Very versatile. I get asked all the time for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srigsby2
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
While I certainly don't delude myself into thinking that I can achieve the authentic brick-oven-ness quality with my oven at home, this recipe definitely yields a dough that's wayyyy better than freezer-section pizza. While I haven't yet had New York City pizza, I did spend the first few years of my childhood in Italy (dad was USAF), so the bar was set very high very early. I'm no longer a fan of the cardboard box pizza franchises, and getting good pizza in my area usually involves a special trip (out of my way) to an expensive gourmet restaurant. This is the first pizza recipe I've used, and thus far it's the only one I've used. I can be very picky about pizza, and I refuse to suffer bad pizza graciously. But I have yet to find this recipe to be lacking. I don't even bothering buying pizza anymore. It's versatile. I've mixed up the toppings and I've used the dough recipe for garlicky bread sticks and even a Stromboli roll. I'll also add that this was my very first effort at making a yeast bread, and it wasn't a disaster! Yeast Newbies, you may want to add a 1/2 tsp or so of sugar to the warm water to speed up the proofing process, otherwise you might mistake the yeast for dead (like I initially did). The sugar will not affect the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States