Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Stirred this up yesterday and we had the pizza for lunch. Loved the crust. I baked it on my stone which was heated to 500 degrees. I used just a bit of sauce on the pizza before the fresh mozzarella. I used a sliced roma tomato, italian seasoning, fresh mushrooms, and diced ham. I put the fresh basil on when I pulled it from the oven. I put the second part of the dough in the freezer - hope that one turns out as good as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. It tasted so fresh and flavorful. I've made it twice already, and my family is requesting it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is amazing dough for thin and hand tossed crust. It NEEDS to rest in the fridge to acquire the right flavor. I make it a day ahead of when I actually plan on using it or just make a batch and keep it in the fridge for a few days and cut off pieces as needed. I let it rest at room temp for at least an hour before shaping otherwise it’s not very pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This makes an Awesome pizza! I made it exactly as written and would not change a thing! Very satisfying flavor and texture! This pizza knocks all others out of the ball park (or rather off the pizza stone!)! I won't be searching any longer for a better pizza recipe, this is the one! My entire family raved about it! Thanks for sharing this great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing! I made my kids a pepperoni pizza, and made another with sun-dried tomatoes and goat cheese for the grown ups. This is restaurant quality pizza. It takes a bit of work since you have to make the dough in advance, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is fantastic ! I am finally satisfied with a home cooked crust now, after years of trying. It has just the right amount of crunch when you bite it. It's not chewy really, like a high-gluten floured pizza would have, but that's okay. My only suggestion, would be to add some flavor to the crust, perhaps garlic salt or maybe butter or something to make it stand out a little. I think the sliced mozzarella is key, too. I found it at Wegman's - the deli guy sliced it super thin for me. Thanks for posting this - it's a keeper for me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
After looking over several recipes I thought this one looked the best. I was right. Tried last night and was a success. First time Ive used yeast and it actually turned out as described. Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is the yummiest pizza dough recipe. I make the pizza on my grill outside. I brush it in olive oil, flip it once, brush with olive oil again, top it with fresh mozzarella and fresh tomatoes and basil. It stays cripy throughout and its actually better when it gets a little burnt in spots! You can make double batches of dough because it keeps for over a week... Just make sure you refrigerate it at least the recommended 16 hrs and take it out an hour before stretching the dough. I'm trying the next one by substituting whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I haven't tried the crust, but the toppings part of the recipe is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Fabulous crust, and I even cheated. Used one cup whole wheat flour (couldn't taste it in the crust, which is a bonus) and 2 cups all purpose (didn't have bread flour). Mixed yeast and water. Let sit for 5 minutes. Then I just threw all ingredients in the bread maker (dough setting) and came back to it 3 hours later. Rolled out easily. I can't imagine how much better it could taste if I actually followed the directions. One day I will try, just didn't have time today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why a conventional oven just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States