Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This dough is amazing and so simple! The longer it's in the fridge, the better it tastes! I use it for pizza, cinnamon rolls, and making bread/rolls. Very versatile. I get asked all the time for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srigsby2
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
While I certainly don't delude myself into thinking that I can achieve the authentic brick-oven-ness quality with my oven at home, this recipe definitely yields a dough that's wayyyy better than freezer-section pizza. While I haven't yet had New York City pizza, I did spend the first few years of my childhood in Italy (dad was USAF), so the bar was set very high very early. I'm no longer a fan of the cardboard box pizza franchises, and getting good pizza in my area usually involves a special trip (out of my way) to an expensive gourmet restaurant. This is the first pizza recipe I've used, and thus far it's the only one I've used. I can be very picky about pizza, and I refuse to suffer bad pizza graciously. But I have yet to find this recipe to be lacking. I don't even bothering buying pizza anymore. It's versatile. I've mixed up the toppings and I've used the dough recipe for garlicky bread sticks and even a Stromboli roll. I'll also add that this was my very first effort at making a yeast bread, and it wasn't a disaster! Yeast Newbies, you may want to add a 1/2 tsp or so of sugar to the warm water to speed up the proofing process, otherwise you might mistake the yeast for dead (like I initially did). The sugar will not affect the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Stirred this up yesterday and we had the pizza for lunch. Loved the crust. I baked it on my stone which was heated to 500 degrees. I used just a bit of sauce on the pizza before the fresh mozzarella. I used a sliced roma tomato, italian seasoning, fresh mushrooms, and diced ham. I put the fresh basil on when I pulled it from the oven. I put the second part of the dough in the freezer - hope that one turns out as good as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. It tasted so fresh and flavorful. I've made it twice already, and my family is requesting it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is amazing dough for thin and hand tossed crust. It NEEDS to rest in the fridge to acquire the right flavor. I make it a day ahead of when I actually plan on using it or just make a batch and keep it in the fridge for a few days and cut off pieces as needed. I let it rest at room temp for at least an hour before shaping otherwise it’s not very pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This makes an Awesome pizza! I made it exactly as written and would not change a thing! Very satisfying flavor and texture! This pizza knocks all others out of the ball park (or rather off the pizza stone!)! I won't be searching any longer for a better pizza recipe, this is the one! My entire family raved about it! Thanks for sharing this great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pcskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing! I made my kids a pepperoni pizza, and made another with sun-dried tomatoes and goat cheese for the grown ups. This is restaurant quality pizza. It takes a bit of work since you have to make the dough in advance, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is fantastic ! I am finally satisfied with a home cooked crust now, after years of trying. It has just the right amount of crunch when you bite it. It's not chewy really, like a high-gluten floured pizza would have, but that's okay. My only suggestion, would be to add some flavor to the crust, perhaps garlic salt or maybe butter or something to make it stand out a little. I think the sliced mozzarella is key, too. I found it at Wegman's - the deli guy sliced it super thin for me. Thanks for posting this - it's a keeper for me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
After looking over several recipes I thought this one looked the best. I was right. Tried last night and was a success. First time Ive used yeast and it actually turned out as described. Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is the yummiest pizza dough recipe. I make the pizza on my grill outside. I brush it in olive oil, flip it once, brush with olive oil again, top it with fresh mozzarella and fresh tomatoes and basil. It stays cripy throughout and its actually better when it gets a little burnt in spots! You can make double batches of dough because it keeps for over a week... Just make sure you refrigerate it at least the recommended 16 hrs and take it out an hour before stretching the dough. I'm trying the next one by substituting whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States