Brian's German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This tastes wonderful but I can't see using all the bacon grease in this recipe I would like to try it with less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
So spouse doesn't liky mayo, and wanted a more vinegar potato salad. This didn't look too difficult, and it had good reviews...it was YUMMY and a big hit at the cook out! The "sauce" cooked a whole lot faster than what the recipe said...after putting in the vinegar, and it thickened right up. One warning...this is not a low-cal recipe, but the taste is well worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Wow, just finished making 10 pounds for a tailgate party tomorrow. This is a great recipe.I know everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very tasty and comforting. I added sauerkraut and it was a nice blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Yum! I love good ol' potato salad... but this is a litlle extra special... loved it warm but adored it cold from the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My sister said that it was better then my mom's and grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this recioe for a Birthday dinner and got exceellent reviews. This is just like my great grandmother from germany used to make.Next I am going to and dill pickle juice instead of the apple cider vinegar and fresh dill and some chopped up dill pickles. My other grandmother from Bohemia used to make it with dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
The first time I tried this, I was sloppy about following the specific cooking directions and it did not turn out well. The second time, I followed them precisely and it was AMAZING! It was a big hit at Oktoberfest and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is similar to a recipe my grandmother used. She added chopped celery in place of the parsley and a cup or two of heated drained sauerkraut. She also browned the bacon before adding flour and the vinegar. The sauerkraut makes all the diference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States