Brian's Favorite Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I pan fried hamburger and onion, then added that and all other ingredients in crock pot and cooked for about 4 hours - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I just made this sauce for a family birthday party...it has been simmering for 3-4 hours and I plan to let it go the rest of the day. I did use alot more meat than the recipe called for (5 pounds ground round & 3 pounds Italian Sausage for a triple batch). I also put my diced tomatoes in the food processor....It is amazing!!! It may not last long enough to use at the birthday party on Sunday!!! This is deserving of way more than 5 stars. I will never buy jarred sauce again! EVER! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Brian's Favorite Sauce Haiku: "Please simmer longer. (Too many tomatoes too.) But we still liked it." I followed the recipe as written (should've read the reviews more thoroughly about reducing the tomatoes, and adding tomato paste, b/c it was just too chunky and not sauce cling-ey) - on the other hand, I did note that many reviewers were unanimous on letting it simmer for much longer than 15 min. It was much tastier after 3 hrs., b/c when I tasted it at 15 min., it wasn't so great and I ended up adding more of the herbs. I'll make it again, but definitely reduce the diced tomatoes, double the herbs, add tom. paste, and of course, let it simmer all afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
So perfect! Let it simmer for hours it is so worth it. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onlyyummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Love it! Best homemade sauce I have ever done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe for the crock pot! I made a few small changes. Omitted the onion, used 42 oz of diced tomatoes, added a 6 oz can of tomato paste and half a cup of red wine. Cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours. I live alone and had NO problem eating this for five nights straight. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good! We enjoyed this sauce- served it for a family dinner, everyone liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
We have been using this recipe for years! We love it. I leave out the sugar and use ground beef instead of italian sausage since I don't like the licorice flavor fennel seeds have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
i love this recipe and have been making it since 2006! - I sometimes add green peppers chopped very small ( so my children won't hesitate to eat it as much) but to get in just a little more flavor and vegetables. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made a vegan version of this sauce. I used a package of Field Roast Italian Sausage and it worked great. Everyone loved this "meaty" sauce! It's easy to make too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States