Brian's Easy Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I keep this at the house and use it frequently. We fish right on the intercoastal canal and the gulf, so we bring home flounder pretty often. Sometimes we clean it so that it comes out like a "sock" and can be literally stuffed, sometimes we clean it in filets. If you can stuff it, its' better! Make sure your stuffing is hot before you put it in the fish, or the fish will cook ahead of the stuffing. All in all a great recipe, and I daresay that just about all of us make modifications to recipes that we think look good! good job Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good, a little salty. Seems fancy but is actually very easy. If using frozen flounder filets, place one on the bottom, spread stuffing on top and cover with a second filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I went floundering for the first time and had to figure out what to do with my beautiful fish. I used fresh crab meat instead of the canned crab and shrimp. This was just kinda bland. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This recipe was easy to make and it was good, but the flavored stuffing mix overpowered the flavor of the crab meat (even though I added 3 more oz of crab meat to the stuffing). I'll be using plain bread crumbs in the future, or perhaps just look for another recipe. Also, this recipe made much more stuffing than I could use for five large flounder fillets (2 lbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
YUMMMMMMMYYYYY. I havent cooked for SO long, been really busy. This dish reminded me how much I miss cooking every night. I used cod fillets and not a whole flounder. My DH said this was restaurant quality. Very good; ill totally make this again soon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lissa30
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this tonight and my husband usually doesn't comment on what's for dinner. When he ate this, I was shocked when he turned to me and said "wow, this is really good!" Everyone loved it and it's a definate keeper! I followed the recipe exact, only substituting flounder fillets for the whole flounder. I did have a lot of stuffing left over...next time I'll half the recipe. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Easy & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
*FABULOUS* it is great as written, but b/c i make it often i have also added halfed cherry tomatoes and parmesian cheese on top. We catch our fish in the gulf of mexico, use fresh caught if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Delicious! I topped mine with a lobster cream sauce, mmm mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
WOW! I loved this recipe! I used talapia instead of flounder (we live in Texas where flounder isn't readily available). I also minimized the butter. I used just one talapia filet and topped it with the stuffing. Dredge talapia filet in bread crumbs (I used Italian Seasoned bread crumbs) Lay filets down in a buttered (greased) 13 x 9 pan (I had a glass pan) Spoon the stuffing on top and flatten with the spoon (to make room for MORE stuffing!) Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. As for the stuffing, I sauted (sp?) the celery and onion in a bit of olive oil -- again, to minimize the butter. That mixture, plus the juices from the canned shrimp and crab was plenty to soak the stuffing mix. All in all, this recipe was GREAT! Hubby loved it! The stuffing was amazing -- the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States