Brian's Easy Stuffed Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
OMG this is AMAZING!!! And easy. Didn't have celery (and don't like it) so used a little celery seed which added just enough for flavor. Added 1 1/2 teaspoons old bay into stuffing mix. Used imitation crab and chopped up that and some large shrimp rather than using the canned products, added water to right consistency since I didn't have the "juices". Used about half as much butter. Used flounder fillets. Put a large handful of stuffing on one side and folded the other half over. Basted with butter and sprinkled liberally with old bay and cajun seasoning. Looked awesome. Added a sauce of 1/2 C mayo, 1 T lemon juice, 1 t milk, 1 t Old Bay. Made a pool around the fish and drizzled over. For a fairly simple meal, it looked and tasted out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was excellent. I had small flounder filets so I put one layer on the pan, topped it witht he stuffing, and put another layer of flounder on top. otherwise exact same instructions.. it was outstanding ! Thank you Brian !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This recipe was very easy, and it had an awesome flavor. I did make some adjustments. I used fillets instead of the whole flounder. I also left out the onion, simply because I do not like onions. I also made a cheese sauce to go on this, it was really good. My husband had some with and without the sauce, and we both agree the sauce made what was delicious even better. I would recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good, a little salty. Seems fancy but is actually very easy. If using frozen flounder filets, place one on the bottom, spread stuffing on top and cover with a second filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
WOW! I loved this recipe! I used talapia instead of flounder (we live in Texas where flounder isn't readily available). I also minimized the butter. I used just one talapia filet and topped it with the stuffing. Dredge talapia filet in bread crumbs (I used Italian Seasoned bread crumbs) Lay filets down in a buttered (greased) 13 x 9 pan (I had a glass pan) Spoon the stuffing on top and flatten with the spoon (to make room for MORE stuffing!) Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. As for the stuffing, I sauted (sp?) the celery and onion in a bit of olive oil -- again, to minimize the butter. That mixture, plus the juices from the canned shrimp and crab was plenty to soak the stuffing mix. All in all, this recipe was GREAT! Hubby loved it! The stuffing was amazing -- the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lissa30
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this tonight and my husband usually doesn't comment on what's for dinner. When he ate this, I was shocked when he turned to me and said "wow, this is really good!" Everyone loved it and it's a definate keeper! I followed the recipe exact, only substituting flounder fillets for the whole flounder. I did have a lot of stuffing left over...next time I'll half the recipe. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Looks very impressive with an entire flounder-- although better instructions on deboning and prep would be appreciated. We ended up cutting off the head and butterflying it but leaving the bones in and eating with caution. I didn't have celery, and I wish I'd gone to get it at the store before cooking-- the stuffing definitely needs the crunch of the celery. Also added chopped parsley after baking for color and presentation. Go easy on the seasonings- the stuffing can get pretty salty with all of the spices in the stuffing and canned shrimp and crab. Keeps great in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
This recipe is EXCELLENT!! I made this last nite for 'Lent', because my family is "Fire-hall 'Fish sandwiched' Out", and this was not only easy to make, but VERY delicious!!! Instead of the 'whole flounder', I used Cod fillets, and rolled the stuffing into them!! Wonderful!! It Definitely will be a 'regular' here during Lent!! Thanks Brian!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe was great! I loved it. Used a flounder fillet instead of a whole flounder and rolled it up with the stuffing in the middle. I halved the recipe for 1 fillet and had a lot left over, so I made it again with Tilapia the next night and I didn't like the Tilapia as much. Definitley recommend the flounder though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fox!nSox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
*FABULOUS* it is great as written, but b/c i make it often i have also added halfed cherry tomatoes and parmesian cheese on top. We catch our fish in the gulf of mexico, use fresh caught if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States