Briam (Greek Mixed Vegetables in Tomato Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Never having tasted briam, I found this to be the Greek answer to ratatouille with the concept of allowing fresh veggies to shine on their own in this rustic dish. The uncooked tomato sauce was especially good with the briny capers and fresh herbs, but I did cut back a bit on the olive oil as well as the sugar. Once baked, I served this as a side dish to grilled chicken for some, but enjoyed my portion vegetarian-style along with some feta and crusty bread. Thanks, Aggeliki, for a dish I will make often this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very pleased to see a recipe for Briam. This one is very good but a little too much oil for us (realize that you use a lot more Olive oil than we normally do). Anyway, cutting it back by a half worked just fine. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! If you are using 1/2 cup olive oil, you don't need to add water, just cover the pan with aluminum foil. It should be done in about 1 hour or less at 400F. Serve with freshly baked bread! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I made this for a crowd, and everyone LOVED it! There was not one speck of leftovers, and everyone wanted the recipe. It was so easy to make and tasted so great. Thanks for this recipe, it will remain a staple in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Simple, healthy and delicious! I usually don't go for mint, but it really works here. The capers are also key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I really liked this but bf didn't--not a surprise, since he doesn't really like tangy sauces. I also subbed a few different veggies in here but it didn't really change the overall flavor. Very easy, if a number of steps. If you like capers and vinegar you will really like this. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved this dish. Great flavor change and quick way to use up veggies. I added red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Excellent! Great way to use up zucchini and eggplant at the end of the growing season. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I was looking for a Greek sauce to go over baked meatballs that had feta and dill in them, so I adapted this and it was delicious! I only had fresh mint handy (snipped it off the new plant on my windowsill) so used a lesser amount of dried other herbs. Accidentally forgot the garlic and parsley, but dried parsley doesn't have a lot of flavor anyway. I only used 1 Tbsp capers, and used 2 cups of canned tomato sauce instead of the fresh tomatoes to make it quicker. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was the first time I have cooked using eggplant or okra and we all enjoyed this dish. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States