Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Of all the soda bread recipes I've tried , this is by far the best ! I made this for my cafe's St. Paddy's Day luncheon, and the reviews were RAVE ! It even brought tears to one older Irish gent who procliamed " It tasted exactly like his childhood..." Bank on this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadScotsChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Unionville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. Yes, the dough is wet, but no you do NOT need to add more flour. Just "knead" it with the spoon if you don't want to get your hands sticky. I needed to shorten the baking time, so I divided the dough into 12 greased muffin cups. It worked great. PLUS it made more of the yummy, crispy edges. We LOVED this and will make it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Really great and simple recipe. Recommended cook time is too long. I cooked mine for about 25 minutes and it was perfect. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this bread tonight with some potato soup and my husband and I both LOVED it! We ate almost the entire loaf just between the two of us. We saved a little bit just so we could see what it would taste like cold. I agree with the other reviewers, the bake time is way too long. I cooked it about 25-30 minutes and it came out perfect! Also, instead of kneeding it on a floured surface and making a round loaf, I put it in a bread pan and it turned out fantastic! To the person who said it was a wet lumpy dough, that's how it was for me too. I didn't add any more four and just baked it and it turned out great! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Amazing!! I was looking for a go to Irish Soda Bread recipe, this is above and beyond what I was looking for. Honestly, I was not a huge fan of soda bread, but my husband likes it. After he tried it he said it was the best soda bread he had ever had. I have tried a few recipes in the past this is the only one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this bread today, It was really good. I did follow the advice of another review post with only baking for 30 min. I'm eating some while I'm writing this :). I think I might like it either a bit more sweet or a bit on the salty side. Maybe add some fruit. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lambertfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this bread for the for the first time tonight and I will definately make it again. It is very delicious and easy to make. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My husband and I love this bread. I originally made it because I needed a bread for dinner and didn't have time for one to rise. The sticky dough is exactly how a real soda bread should be. I've made the milk/vinegar mixture only add up to 1 cup, and then added 2 TBSP melted butter. Also, if I double it I usually add just a little more salt and sugar. Fabulous recipe though, I always get compliments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Fabulous! Note to others - this batter is sticky only if you don't stop adding the milk as directed. Add only enough until the dry ingredients hold together. I have found that means that I don't use about 2TBL of the milk/vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Penguini
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was my first experiment with soda bread. It came out delicious! I made it to go with the Potato soup! (Ultimate potato soup by THUMPER74137) A chorus of Mmm's were the only sound at dinner that night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguini

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States