Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
A decent bread. I wasn't too thrilled with the taste, but my family prefered this over the whole wheat soda bread I made. I just loved the Irish Wheaten Bread recipe, but this one had no flavor. I baked it for about 25 minutes and it came out flat. I either flattened the bread out too much, or more baking soda is needed. If I make this again, I will use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Toni in Indiana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Just what I was looking for~not a sweet bread~ something to serve with my Corned Beef & Cabbage. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni in Indiana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good, quick and easy bread, follow recipe excatly, except don't bake as long 30 minutes is enough time, I brushed it with some butter on top after 25 minutes of baking, and then baked for an additional five, just to get the crust golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wamego, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orting, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Just made this for St Patricks's day and instead of milk and vinegar used buttermilk (need a little more) like my mother in law Hannah used to make on griddle. My husband loved it and I just made 2 more for tonight for the grandchildren coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
After making as written and baking for the stated time, I find it hard to review how the bread tastes as it comes out way overcooked and rubbery. Very disappointed, and not sure I care to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Made two loaves today... absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Amazing!! I was looking for a go to Irish Soda Bread recipe, this is above and beyond what I was looking for. Honestly, I was not a huge fan of soda bread, but my husband likes it. After he tried it he said it was the best soda bread he had ever had. I have tried a few recipes in the past this is the only one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. Yes, the dough is wet, but no you do NOT need to add more flour. Just "knead" it with the spoon if you don't want to get your hands sticky. I needed to shorten the baking time, so I divided the dough into 12 greased muffin cups. It worked great. PLUS it made more of the yummy, crispy edges. We LOVED this and will make it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This turned out great. I've doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves or lots of "biscuits" I like that it doesn't call for added fats like shortening or lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delish! And super easy! I added 2 tablespoons melted butter for extra buttery taste. The dough was extremely moist, but no need to add extra flour. It bakes just fine and might get too dry if you add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States