Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This makes a small loaf that was just enough for three people with St Patricks day dinner but was excellent. Travis and Austin loved it. Only needed to cook for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jen B
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this very easy bread to go with my corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick's Day! The only thing I would do is maybe use a milk or egg wash on the top because it looks pretty dry. The inside was not too dry though. It was my first time making Irish Soda Bread so I was pretty happy with the results. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
it was a good recipe, but it lacks RAISINS!!! That was was why it did not get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I found the flavor very good but the texture seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This soda bread was so easy to make and tasted very, very good. Yes the dough is very sticky, but if you do not want to get your hands dirty then stay out of the kitchen. This bread is so tasty we will be having it next week with an irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is the real deal!! I made this with lamb stew. I originally had a box mix that I made. I had a funny feeling I should make another, just in case. So glad I did. The box mix was, quite frankly, . It tasted awful. This is so easy anyway, its a waste of money to buy a mix for flour, baking soda, salt and sugar... This was delicious. Tasted just like what my grandmother used to make, and she was Irish through and through. Only changes I made were to reduce bake time to 30 minutes and brush butter on the top at the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I just baked this today and this is very good stuff! I did add an extra TBSP of sugar just because we like a slightly sweeter bread. Dough was very wet, and I only baked this for 35 minutes. I think 30 would have been enough though. This was so easy! I might try adding raisins to this and maybe a touch more sugar next time just for fun and experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was amazing. I am 13 and I made it. My hole family loved it so much. I made 4 loafs in 1 week. This bread is awesome:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Solid. Very easy to make. Moist. Very subtle flavor. One where spread is highlight. I did love the crunch of the crust. Like a baguette as for crunchy crust factor. Mildly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My husband and I both really like this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States