Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
OK First of all, I rated this 5 star even though the 45 min baking time is way too much. 30 mins is perfect. I have got to say that this bread was the easiest bread I've ever made and it is "da bomb diggity"! I should have made a lot more on St. Patty's Day! I'll be making this all the time. When its a hit with my teenage grandkids, I know its good. A total keeper, this one is. What I did to make the easiest clean up ever is that after washing my hands well, of course, I just left everything in the bowl and kneaded it with my hands. Plopped it on my greased pan and stuck it in the oven for 30 mins. A cup of buttermilk works instead of the milk and vinegar. The milk and vinegar mixture is actually the substitute for buttermilk. My mama taught me that years n years ago. OH YEAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe except used real buttermilk. I took the bread out of the oven after 30 min as some suggested and was tempted into cutting into it right away. Center was not cooked, so i put it back in the oven (turned off) and let it sit in the residual heat for 5 min. Then, I let it cool on the sheet for 10 mins. It was gone 10 minutes after that! Yummy! The dough *is* soft. I used my stand mixer with the dough hook and used just the hook to mix and kneed the dough. It took about 2 min for everything to come together. Use damp hands to help shape the dough on the sheet. Oh, and I used a silpat instead of greasing the baking sheet. This is MUCH better than another soda bread I tried last week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Dough was a wet mess. Double checked my amounts with the recipe. You need to add a lot more flour or a lot less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is the best recipe I've found. 25-30 minutes is the best baking time, and if I'm adding raisins I'll add and extra 1/2 tbsp or so to make it a tad sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Used buttermilk, but otherwise made as written. Hard chewy crust and doughy interior. Served with Guiness Corned Beef and Irish Champ, which were very good. Sorry, not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This makes a small loaf that was just enough for three people with St Patricks day dinner but was excellent. Travis and Austin loved it. Only needed to cook for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jen B
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this very easy bread to go with my corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick's Day! The only thing I would do is maybe use a milk or egg wash on the top because it looks pretty dry. The inside was not too dry though. It was my first time making Irish Soda Bread so I was pretty happy with the results. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
it was a good recipe, but it lacks RAISINS!!! That was was why it did not get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I found the flavor very good but the texture seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This soda bread was so easy to make and tasted very, very good. Yes the dough is very sticky, but if you do not want to get your hands dirty then stay out of the kitchen. This bread is so tasty we will be having it next week with an irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States