Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Baking time recommended is too long. I baked for 30 minutes or so and it was perfect. Allow to cool somewhat for easier slicing. The taste is a bit like a buttermilk biscuit, but no shortening so does not have a biscuit texture. Crispy on the outside, somewhat dense and soft on the inside. The kids enjoyed it and it was gone quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Really great and simple recipe. Recommended cook time is too long. I cooked mine for about 25 minutes and it was perfect. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Of all the soda bread recipes I've tried , this is by far the best ! I made this for my cafe's St. Paddy's Day luncheon, and the reviews were RAVE ! It even brought tears to one older Irish gent who procliamed " It tasted exactly like his childhood..." Bank on this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Mowatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Unionville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Hands down, the best Irish Soda Bread EVER! I've finally found my "IT" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Turned out a lump of sticky, sticky dough - had to add almost a cup of flour - never did get it off my fingers. Followed receipe EXAXTLY!!!!! AND had others check. What a mess - will not ever do that one again...............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Awesome bread. It didn't take the full time to cook only 30 minutes but the texture and taste were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was sooo good--and so easy. I made it to go with soup and the bread was done first. I kept picking at it, waiting on the soup because it was just so good. I think you could add herbs if you wanted something different (not sure how traditional that would be), but you don't need to. I'm going to try adding rosemary next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this bread tonight with some potato soup and my husband and I both LOVED it! We ate almost the entire loaf just between the two of us. We saved a little bit just so we could see what it would taste like cold. I agree with the other reviewers, the bake time is way too long. I cooked it about 25-30 minutes and it came out perfect! Also, instead of kneeding it on a floured surface and making a round loaf, I put it in a bread pan and it turned out fantastic! To the person who said it was a wet lumpy dough, that's how it was for me too. I didn't add any more four and just baked it and it turned out great! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delish! And super easy! I added 2 tablespoons melted butter for extra buttery taste. The dough was extremely moist, but no need to add extra flour. It bakes just fine and might get too dry if you add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This turned out great. I've doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves or lots of "biscuits" I like that it doesn't call for added fats like shortening or lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States