Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Penguini
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was my first experiment with soda bread. It came out delicious! I made it to go with the Potato soup! (Ultimate potato soup by THUMPER74137) A chorus of Mmm's were the only sound at dinner that night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguini

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Every time I make this I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this bread today, It was really good. I did follow the advice of another review post with only baking for 30 min. I'm eating some while I'm writing this :). I think I might like it either a bit more sweet or a bit on the salty side. Maybe add some fruit. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lambertfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
We liked this a lot. Good simple bread. It's easier to just throw it into a bread pan and bake instead of shaping it into a loaf. It's really wet and hard to shape. (I've tried it both ways)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is so quick and easy. I made a loaf for St. Patrick's Day supper, and two days later my 11 year-old son made another loaf. It's that simple. I used buttermilk in place of the milk and vinegar since I had some I needed to use up. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
A decent bread. I wasn't too thrilled with the taste, but my family prefered this over the whole wheat soda bread I made. I just loved the Irish Wheaten Bread recipe, but this one had no flavor. I baked it for about 25 minutes and it came out flat. I either flattened the bread out too much, or more baking soda is needed. If I make this again, I will use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Toni in Indiana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Just what I was looking for~not a sweet bread~ something to serve with my Corned Beef & Cabbage. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni in Indiana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good, quick and easy bread, follow recipe excatly, except don't bake as long 30 minutes is enough time, I brushed it with some butter on top after 25 minutes of baking, and then baked for an additional five, just to get the crust golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wamego, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orting, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Just made this for St Patricks's day and instead of milk and vinegar used buttermilk (need a little more) like my mother in law Hannah used to make on griddle. My husband loved it and I just made 2 more for tonight for the grandchildren coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
After making as written and baking for the stated time, I find it hard to review how the bread tastes as it comes out way overcooked and rubbery. Very disappointed, and not sure I care to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States