Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
YUM! I baked it in a loaf pan and spread an egg white on top. I reduced the cooking time (as others suggested) to about 34 minutes. My kids ate it all and asked or more! I just vigorously stirred it with a spoon for 30 seconds without adding additional flour. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a very easy, very tasty, very authentic soda bread recipe. I agree with other reviewers who said that the baking time is too long. I baked mine for 30 minutes and it turned out beautifully. This is a sticky dough, so I try to handle as little as possible. I just mix it with a stand mixer and scrape the dough out directly onto the baking sheet, making a roughly mound shaped lump. Then I sprinkle a little flour on the top, pat the dough into a reasonably neat rounded shape and slash an X in the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Simple and authentic, and best of all very easy to throw together quickly with ingredients that are on hand. I actually used real buttermilk rather than the milk/vinegar substitution, but I'm sure the substitution works fine. I also only baked for about 30 min (and did three loaves on the cookie sheet) and got the perfect level of done-ness. This recipe is great and tastes like bread I ate as an exchange student in Ireland years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm not too familiar with soda bread, so I don't know how authentic this one tastes. But I can tell you that it is one good bread. Slightly sweet, crusty on the outside and soft but dense inside. Everyone loved it, and I am looking forward to using it for corned beef sandwiches. Made exactly as written. I was concerned that the dough seemed wet, but I stuck with it and kneaded a little more, and the dough turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was great, I only had cider vinegar and it worked fine. Mixed it in the Kitchen Aide, and baked it on pizza stone. Dough was very sticky.. I was very unsure it it would bake up properly but I figured with so few ingredients I had nothing to loose. Don't change a thing. It was tender and a bit sweet, not too sweet. Best I have made yet. Will make this again for more than just a St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauraellen225
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
5 stars for ease, time and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Fabulous! Note to others - this batter is sticky only if you don't stop adding the milk as directed. Add only enough until the dry ingredients hold together. I have found that means that I don't use about 2TBL of the milk/vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Awesome. Cook time on recipe is too long. Shorten cook time. Thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Yummy....sticky mess, yep, to long of time, yep even 30 made ours really really brown, I will cut the time back even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I wasn't too sure of this at first and have never made bread (other than desert breads) before. I was very happy with my first try and am going to make more right away! It really is quite good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States