Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Great Bread! I originally made if for St Patrick's Day and now I make it all of the time because it is so easy! Only about 10 minutes of prep and you have fresh bread for dinner. I changed the cooking time to only 40 minutes and it is perfect. I also do 1 cup whole wheat flour to make it a little healthier. FYI, it is also a very wet dough but that is what makes it so moist. Great for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Perfect, simple bread recipe. I always make this with corned beef and cabbage - everyone loves it. I normally change something in a recipe, but not this one - perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent. Didn't do anything different and it was wonderful. Mixing it up, I thought, "This is going to be a giant [American style] biscuit. Not so, it was a wonderful bread. My only lesson learned was that I didn't cut my X deep enough. But the loaf in the oven now is just right. Can't wait until supper! Thank you for this great, authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this for the first time for St. Patrick's Day. It was pretty easy to make and everyone, including myself loved it! Will make again for stews/soupts, etc.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very nice soda bread. I did use buttermilk instead of the milk vinegar combo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
YUM! I baked it in a loaf pan and spread an egg white on top. I reduced the cooking time (as others suggested) to about 34 minutes. My kids ate it all and asked or more! I just vigorously stirred it with a spoon for 30 seconds without adding additional flour. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a very easy, very tasty, very authentic soda bread recipe. I agree with other reviewers who said that the baking time is too long. I baked mine for 30 minutes and it turned out beautifully. This is a sticky dough, so I try to handle as little as possible. I just mix it with a stand mixer and scrape the dough out directly onto the baking sheet, making a roughly mound shaped lump. Then I sprinkle a little flour on the top, pat the dough into a reasonably neat rounded shape and slash an X in the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Simple and authentic, and best of all very easy to throw together quickly with ingredients that are on hand. I actually used real buttermilk rather than the milk/vinegar substitution, but I'm sure the substitution works fine. I also only baked for about 30 min (and did three loaves on the cookie sheet) and got the perfect level of done-ness. This recipe is great and tastes like bread I ate as an exchange student in Ireland years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm not too familiar with soda bread, so I don't know how authentic this one tastes. But I can tell you that it is one good bread. Slightly sweet, crusty on the outside and soft but dense inside. Everyone loved it, and I am looking forward to using it for corned beef sandwiches. Made exactly as written. I was concerned that the dough seemed wet, but I stuck with it and kneaded a little more, and the dough turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was great, I only had cider vinegar and it worked fine. Mixed it in the Kitchen Aide, and baked it on pizza stone. Dough was very sticky.. I was very unsure it it would bake up properly but I figured with so few ingredients I had nothing to loose. Don't change a thing. It was tender and a bit sweet, not too sweet. Best I have made yet. Will make this again for more than just a St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States