Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this for authentic Irish meal,served it w/ Bangers and Mash.... wonderful!!!! Only needs 30 minutes in oven. I make this a few times a week now, haven't bought bread in months, the grocer can keep his $3.00 a loaf bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Dough is a bit wet but don't worry. It works and it's delicious. It was a big hit on St. Paddy's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraizyMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Excellent Recipe, been using it for years. I do update it a bit with caraway seeds and currants or raisins. But excellent crumb, easy to modify with other seeds and additions while sticking to the basic recipe. Thanks everyone for your input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I make this all the time now. However, I bake it for less than the time stated because it gets done a lot sooner than the time indicated. How anyone can knead the sticky dough on a floured surface is beyond my understanding. I just plop it in a greased bowl and bake. Turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Tried this for the first time today, to rave reviews from my husband. Will definitely be doing this recipe again and again. tried baking it in a convection oven and it was a great success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Tremendous recipe exactly as written. Makes a fantastic corned beef sandwich. My husband asked me to make it again as buns so he could use one with a hamburger. Yes it's sticky but it works perfectly and is so delicious it's worth a few sticky fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe! I used buttermilk and replaced 1 cup of the flour for whole wheat flour and it came out perfect. Crunchy outside and soft inside. So easy that I will certainly make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
THIS WAS WONDERFUL, MADE IT LAST NIGHT TO GO ALONG WITH OUR ST. PATRICKS DINNER, IT WAS REAL EASY TO MAKE AND TASTED YUMMY. I WILL BE USING THIS RECIPE ALOT MORE OFTEN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I baked mine 30 minutes because of other reviewer's suggestions, but it was still doughy in the middle. Wish I'd followed the recipe and baked it for 45. But I think if cooked the proper time it would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea
Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Just made this bread today. But changed it little I had left over buttermilk so used it 1 cup and used 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese . and only baked it for 30 min. mix the cheese with flour mixture. Turned out very good. Baked it in a 9 inch round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States