Brennan's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Tremendous recipe exactly as written. Makes a fantastic corned beef sandwich. My husband asked me to make it again as buns so he could use one with a hamburger. Yes it's sticky but it works perfectly and is so delicious it's worth a few sticky fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe! I used buttermilk and replaced 1 cup of the flour for whole wheat flour and it came out perfect. Crunchy outside and soft inside. So easy that I will certainly make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
THIS WAS WONDERFUL, MADE IT LAST NIGHT TO GO ALONG WITH OUR ST. PATRICKS DINNER, IT WAS REAL EASY TO MAKE AND TASTED YUMMY. I WILL BE USING THIS RECIPE ALOT MORE OFTEN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I baked mine 30 minutes because of other reviewer's suggestions, but it was still doughy in the middle. Wish I'd followed the recipe and baked it for 45. But I think if cooked the proper time it would be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea
Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Just made this bread today. But changed it little I had left over buttermilk so used it 1 cup and used 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese . and only baked it for 30 min. mix the cheese with flour mixture. Turned out very good. Baked it in a 9 inch round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was sooo easy & sooo good! Much easier AND tastier than another Irish soda bread I tried. I halved the recipe & made a very small loaf which I cooked on toaster setting in a buttered pie tin in my not-so-good/about-to-be-exchanged convection oven. I served it with "True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy" recipe here. Cut the loaf in quarters. Hard crust & very soft center. A perfect accompaniment to the dish. I will definitely make this easy & yummy recipe again! I'd like to make it & have it with jam or marmalade. NOT just for breakfast, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
ITS WONDERFUL SO SIMPLE WE LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huggins, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this bread with less milk because it was so wet. Still incredibly sticky. I made two loaves and, after baking for 30 minutes (and it was nice and brown)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Excellent option for a yeast-free bread. Made no modifications. Reduced baking time to 40 min - and changed from top to bottom shelf half-way through for a more even crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by photobleacher
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Wonderful & simple. My only adjustment was that I used a cup of buttermilk vs. the milk and vinegar combination suggested in recipe. I also would recommend going with a high-gluten flour instead of standard all-purpose flour - it gives it more body. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photobleacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States