Brenda's Italian Style Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wonderful recipe! We really enjoyed these. When I make them next time, I would recommend a couple things. Since there is so much fat in the beef and pepperoni, the pan should be drained about 1/2 way into the cooking. Also, our cheese burned a bit on top- which might be due to our crappy oven! Perhaps bake for the first half without the cheese, then add the cheese during the second half on top. Great recipe.. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I did follow the recipe closely, only using finely chopped red pepper in the patties instead of green peppers. I did use a homemade pizza sauce. This was an interesting way to prepare patties--it's like a mixture between meatballs, meat loaf and pizza. I had a difficult time keeping the stewed tomatoes in the patties and the mushrooms, olives and pepperoni was a bit awkward on top even though it's held in place with the mozzerella cheese. Though it's not quite a home run for us yet, the base recipe was great and I think I'll play with it a little to make it a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I made this recipe much healthier and it tasted great! I used 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 ground chicken breast. I used egg whites and panko bread crumbs and omitted the salt all together. I used green onions instead of the gr bell pepper. I stuffed these w/ Canadian bacon, onion, reduced fat mozz chz, and roasted red bell peppers. I grilled these outside. I topped them w/ sauted onions and roasted red bell pepper w/ a little of a low sugar spag. sauce (which I also added a spoon full inside the patties and mixed w/ the meat). I probably cut the fat and calories by at least 1/2! These were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I was not to pleased with this. Maybe it was the kind of pizza sauce I used. Wasn't bad, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe. It is a cross between meatloaf and pizza. It's a nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
These patties were very good! My kids loved them sooo much. I made them again the next day. The only thing I did day 2 was I cooked them on the grill and put the veggies, sauce and cheese on top. Either way....YUM YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Very strange recipe. My wife liked it a lot more than I did. Tastes like a mix between meatloaf and pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
This was very delicious. If your kids aren't big on olives or mushrooms just don't put them on their patties! It also makes enough for two meals for a family of 5. (I froze five patties before baking them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States