Brenda's Apple and Pomegranate Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was easy and great. I tweaked the recipe with lemon juice, pomegranate molasses, caramel, sweet apples, tart apples, extra pomegranate, and substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice, and brought it to a BBQ potluck. This dessert vanished while others lingered and endured the leftover walk-of-shame back home. I'm only giving the recipe four, rather than five, stars because it should include all of these ingredient options, as suggested by others, as part of the basic recipe. I would also double the topping going forward, another previous suggestion. This is DEFINITELY going to be on this year's Thanksgiving menu, and next's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tally98626
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Good, but too much nutmeg (and I do like nutmeg). I used a whole pomagranet and granny smith apples with some lemon juice mixed in for added tartness. Will make again but much lighter on the nutmeg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a wonderful dessert. I almost never comment on recipes, and I rarely make them multiple times; but I've now made this one two weeks in a row, and love it. Definitely serve it warm, not room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe was ok. I found that it had a little too much cinnamon. However, I found that it had good favor with the pomegranate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This recipe was a huge hit with the family, with one, tiny exception. The pomegranate seeds were the only complaint. I could handle it, but others in the family did not enjoy the seeds (even though they had been softened by cooking) being stuck in their teeth. Next time, I'll juice the seeds and add that to the apples. Other than that, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this as written. Even as I read I thought the dish would be too big for just 4 apples and 40 minutes seemed too long. It came out a little mushy for my taste and the crust sunk into the apples. Tasted okay. But since I was taking to church dinner I wanted to make it look better. I scraped all of it into a 9" plate and remade a crust using a gluten free recipe in AllRecipes. I then baked it for 15" . It turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this dish for a pomegranate cook-off and it got rave reviews. The arils softened up after cooking and gave the apples a great flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Good, but too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I thought it was great, but a tad sweet so I cut back on the brown sugar. I also found that the topping worked best if the butter was softened, not melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Awesomeaddition of the pomegranates! I substituted whole wheat flour & used brown sugar for topping as well...sons devoured it:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States