BREAKSTONE'S Triple Chocolate Bliss Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years! Don't worry about what kind of sour cream you use though! Only difference from my recipe is that I use half a cup of strong coffee instead of water! Best and easiest cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have made this recipe for years and it is delicious. ONLY, I have never put sourcream in it. I use a choc cake mix, sm. pkg of choc. inst. pudding(nofat, no sugar), and 1 bag of choc chips, 1 3/4 C of milk, 2 eggs and if the cake mix has NO oil I use 1/3 C. Mix it all together and put in a pam sprayed bundt pan 350 for 50-55 min. I never ice it as it is super just the way it is. Next time I will add the No Fat Sour Cream and see how that is. I bet it is super super moist! A students mom gave this to me 25 years ago and I have saved it ever since! It's an antique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This cake is wonderful. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I used chocolate fudge cake mix because that is what I had on hand and I added a touch of cocoa powder to the batter. The ganache topping is fantastic. I ended up making the cake as 12 mini bundts instead of a giant bundt and serving individual cakelettes with fresh raspberries. It would also go nicely with strawberries, sorbet, or by itself. The raspberries or fruit aren't strictly necessary but if you get them, the raspberry flavor really goes wonderfully with the cake. The cake was extremely moist. If you refrigerate (directions suggest that you do that, presumably because of the topping) let the cakes return to room temperature before serving so that the icing becomes soft. It tastes good cold too, but it is more like chocolate candy when taken straight out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Amazingly delicious cake whose crowning glory is the FROSTING you make with the chocolate and Cool Whip (and it makes a LOT of it). I plan to use just that portion as a separate recipe for frosting. I would say just make sure you follow exactly. Make sure the frosting is warm enough to be drippy while applying (it hardens a bit when it cools). The rasberries are a nice touch but not necessary for those who want to skip it. I used FROZEN thawed rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My Mom has been making this cake as long as I can remember but she adds chocolate chips and doesn't make the ganache. I being the chocolate adict that I am, added the chips and the ganache. I am really not a cool whip fan so I used heavy cream, semi sweet chocolate, and powdered sugar to make mine. This cake is rich, moist, and delish. I am a caterer by trade and make this cake very often as it is not costly, and always amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
"What you put in, you get out" The artificial tasting ingredients such as cake mix and instant pudding don't disappear with the addition of the other ingredients as I had hoped. SO if you are looking for a really impressive dessert for a dinner party- this isn't it. It tastes a little better than Entenmann's or other commerical pastry (which are good in their own way- but just have a certain mass produced flavor). BUT on the positive side- and this is pretty important- it is INCREDIBLY EASY and can be whipped up in minutes by a novice baker and also comes out extremely moist. An excellent texture-not crumby or dry at all-- great for a kid's birthday cake! 2 comments- at my supermarket, I couldn't find any cake mix that was specifically for a double layer cake- so I used 2 complete packets and have no idea if I used the right amount. An actual measurement would be less confusing. Also-- the glaze was far too much. I used half because I didn't have room to pour the rest and it was dripping off the platter as it is. It's also a good idea to let the sauce thicken before pouring it over- about 1/2 hour in the fridge. Otherwise it is really messy and gets everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Everyone loved it. Fantastic! Didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever made, and my family said it was the BEST cake they'd ever had! (And my sister wants to be a chef, and my aunt prides herself - appropriately - on making gourmet desserts!) The ONLY thing I would change for the next time I make the cake is to add 1/4 cup less sour cream; I thought I could taste a hint of sour cream, so I think lessening the amount by a tad would eliminate that flavor, but keep the rich, moist texture. In stead of a bundt, I made 2 9-in rounds and used the topping in the center and on top as an icing. Oh my goodness - the icing was like a truffle!!!!! I probably ate a quarter of the cake myself. I can't say enough about this....it was so easy and tasted like it came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've been making this for years but without the choc topping, I always stir in 1 cup of mini choc chips before pouring into the pan. Very moist and sure to satisfy a chocoholic, I'm anxious to try the topping next time I make it..sounds good and rich.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
serve with raspberries sherbert - excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States