BREAKSTONE'S Triple Chocolate Bliss Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have made this recipe for years and it is delicious. ONLY, I have never put sourcream in it. I use a choc cake mix, sm. pkg of choc. inst. pudding(nofat, no sugar), and 1 bag of choc chips, 1 3/4 C of milk, 2 eggs and if the cake mix has NO oil I use 1/3 C. Mix it all together and put in a pam sprayed bundt pan 350 for 50-55 min. I never ice it as it is super just the way it is. Next time I will add the No Fat Sour Cream and see how that is. I bet it is super super moist! A students mom gave this to me 25 years ago and I have saved it ever since! It's an antique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years! Don't worry about what kind of sour cream you use though! Only difference from my recipe is that I use half a cup of strong coffee instead of water! Best and easiest cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've been making this for years but without the choc topping, I always stir in 1 cup of mini choc chips before pouring into the pan. Very moist and sure to satisfy a chocoholic, I'm anxious to try the topping next time I make it..sounds good and rich.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this cake yesterday, and there is one little slice left. It is very moist(almost a sponge cake consistency). It is very good and very very easy to make.I followed the recipe exactly, but used another brand of low fat sour cream. But, as far as making the little stars on top with the cool whip, well that just didn't happen. I don't know if the icing was too hot, but I just had little white blobs on top..lol! I also could not find raspberries, so I cut up strawberries, stirred in a spoonful of sugar, and poured these into the middle. It was very tasty and my family was impressed with the presentation, even with the little white blobs! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is definitely the best chocolate cake I have ever made. It is so deliciously moist....there really is no need for icing!! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Amazingly delicious cake whose crowning glory is the FROSTING you make with the chocolate and Cool Whip (and it makes a LOT of it). I plan to use just that portion as a separate recipe for frosting. I would say just make sure you follow exactly. Make sure the frosting is warm enough to be drippy while applying (it hardens a bit when it cools). The rasberries are a nice touch but not necessary for those who want to skip it. I used FROZEN thawed rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Delicious! I used coffee instead of water and made only half of the topping. Then I served with strawberries. It was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very Good. When I served the cake I added a dallop of cool whip and placed some berries in it. I used blackberries and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athena812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Was super moist dense cake. Got lots of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This cake is wonderful. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I used chocolate fudge cake mix because that is what I had on hand and I added a touch of cocoa powder to the batter. The ganache topping is fantastic. I ended up making the cake as 12 mini bundts instead of a giant bundt and serving individual cakelettes with fresh raspberries. It would also go nicely with strawberries, sorbet, or by itself. The raspberries or fruit aren't strictly necessary but if you get them, the raspberry flavor really goes wonderfully with the cake. The cake was extremely moist. If you refrigerate (directions suggest that you do that, presumably because of the topping) let the cakes return to room temperature before serving so that the icing becomes soft. It tastes good cold too, but it is more like chocolate candy when taken straight out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States