BREAKSTONE'S Triple Chocolate Bliss Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sherry
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
made this for my son's bday 2day. cake itself was good and moist. Didn't have enought whip cream maybe that was it, but the frosting was super chocolately sweet, even for me, had to save it by adding strawberry icing had in cupboard. Mixed it well with the chocolate and saved the day! All in all was good. But didn't understand the starshaped wooded toothpick thing. Maybe figure that out later, but family liked it the birthday boy liked it and so did i, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever made, and my family said it was the BEST cake they'd ever had! (And my sister wants to be a chef, and my aunt prides herself - appropriately - on making gourmet desserts!) The ONLY thing I would change for the next time I make the cake is to add 1/4 cup less sour cream; I thought I could taste a hint of sour cream, so I think lessening the amount by a tad would eliminate that flavor, but keep the rich, moist texture. In stead of a bundt, I made 2 9-in rounds and used the topping in the center and on top as an icing. Oh my goodness - the icing was like a truffle!!!!! I probably ate a quarter of the cake myself. I can't say enough about this....it was so easy and tasted like it came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
serve with raspberries sherbert - excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I wish I could give this more stars! This is the best basic recipe for cake mix enhancements, using the least fat and less sour cream. I use this as a standard for any cake mix I use, substituting flavors such as butterscotch pudding with betty crocker butter pecan cake. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This cake is delicious!! I didn't do the Cool Whip and Raspberries however. I did add 1 cup chocolate chips to the batter as well as 1 teaspoon of peppermint extract. Just a hint of mint and so yummy! Frosted with Pillsbury milk chocolate frosting because I was in a hurry for a co-worker's birthday. Decorated with some fresh strawberries and voila! Instant raves! Baking time was just a smidge over one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day, and it was gorgeous! Definitely gets a five star for looks. I LOVED the chocolate topping, and will most definitely be using that handy little trick again! As one user pointed out, the taste is still definitely a boxed cake mix taste, although the sour cream and pudding make it better. It was better than regular cake mix, but not homemade cake good:). Overall a very beautiful cake, and super easy to put together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.antoinette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It was very good, but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy LaPorta Rainwater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Wonderful cake - I will not make so much ganache next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very good, especially considering how easy it is to make. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Everyone loved it. Fantastic! Didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States