BREAKSTONE'S Sour Cream Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I used store brand light sour cream, russets, shredded cheddar instead of velveeta. Still, it came out amazing! I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very Good- used more ham and served as main dish. Worked well for a friend with Celiac's Disease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Good but a lot of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I halved the recipe and had to make changes because of what I had on hand but they tasted great! Bacon cut in chunks and fried first (rather than ham), Cheddar cheesy white sauce (use 1 tablespoon bacon grease and 1 tablespoon butter, 2 -1/2 tablespoons flour and 1 cup milk, salt, pepper and grated Cheddar-about a cup and a half-in place of Velveeta), whole milk greek yogurt in place of sour cream. My texture seemed more like twice baked chunky potato casserole than scalloped potatoes but it was really just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Instead of sour cream, I used leftover regular cream -of the which I needed to use up since it was going to go bad. Scrumptious and so simple. Husband said best he ever had, but was probably the cream that did that. If I make again will need to use cream for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Too much! I did add more ham than the recipe called for, but other than that, I followed it. The first couple of bites aren't too bad as you taste the creamy blend of velveeta and sour cream, but after that it gets sickening. It's much too rich and cheesy. I thought that maybe if I cut back the sour cream and velveeta and sustituted in some half and half, that it would be improved, but I came to the conclussion that it would just be very close to my own trusted scalloped potatoes and ham recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I wasn't thrilled with the overall recipe. However, with some changes, I think it could work. If you want to be able to actually taste the ham, you're going to need to add about twice as much. Also, I don't think the red potatoes really work well in the recipe. They don't mash as well as Yukons or Russets. If I were to make this recipe again, I'd use those. Also, another variation to consider would be using a bag of frozen hashbrowns and mixing it with the remaining ingredients (including extra ham). I also would leave off the parmesan at the end and sprinkle it with some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was fantastic! I left out the ham and the parmesan and it was still amazing. Most people would want to add some salt without those two ingredients, but for me it was just right! Finally, a super easy and delicious potato recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States