Breakfast Treat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I think using shredded cheese would have a definite advantage as not so salty as cheese slices, used Velveeta and no salt. Threw in 1/2 cup of chopped green onions and took the crusts of the bread. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I do not make this the night before. Make it in the morning and bake it same day, that will make the mushy part go away. I do not use as much milk when baking the same day. Just enough with your eggs to cover your bread and tear your bread in pieces. It is really yummy this way, I do not like mushy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Extremely easy, but not my favorite. I added bacon the second time around, which improved it in my opinion, a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Super easy and yummy! After reading reviews, I also buttered the bottom of the bread slices and added onion to the eggs. Everyone loved it! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Made for the children for breakfast for a change. 2 out of 3 kids loved it. The egg was light and fluffy. Next time I will use grated cheese and add some leek or onion and capsicum or even try diced chicken. I enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
quick and tasty. Nothing special. Definitely does not serve 12. More like 4 average servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I don't know if it's because the ham I used was left over maple falvoured or if it was the mustard, but there was a dominant flavour I didn't like. I followed as close as possible using the processed cheese but reduced the milk a little as we were out. Also I was unsure if you cook it covered or uncovered. I guess it depends on what you like in your house. I served it with baked beans which helped. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Made this this morning, read the reviews and was leary...They were right the bread turned mushy. I however did not let it sit overnight cause I just found the recipse last night and didn't realize it had to sit in fridge overnight.... It was ok...My daughters said too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I used real shredded cheese and added some cream into the eggmixture - about a half a cup. I put in some green onions and covered the top with shredded cheese, cover with foil and cooked for 45mins then uncovered and cooked another 20mins until browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tehanipetcel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Terrace, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I substituted cheddar for the processed cheese, and changed the ratios of the ingredients per slice of bread as follows: 1 slice (about 3/4 oz) cheese, 4 Tbsp diced ham, 1 tsp butter, 1 egg, 1/4 cup milk, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp dry mustard. Instead of pouring melted butter over the ham, I started by buttering one side of the bread and placing it buttered-side down in an ungreased pan. I then added the cheese, ham, and egg mixture. I baked at 350F for around 45 minutes. My modified version of the recipe has half as much milk per egg as in the original recipe, and this set nicely without the mushiness some other reviewers have commented on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States