Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
EXCELLENT!! Can't imagine how many calories saved by using a piece of pork we purchased on sale which had so little fat that I actually added a little bit of canola oil just to fry it. They taste was awesome even though I didn't have any ground cloves. Thanks so much for a healthier, cheaper alternative to purchased sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I've always bought tubes of sausage from the store and it turns out that I can make it for much cheaper. Boneless pork loin goes on sale regularly here and I can have my butcher grind it for me. This recipe is great - I did sub 1 tsp italian seasoning for the marjoram since I didn't have any, but the sausage still came out great! The spice combo is super yummy and lends itself to lots of recipes. I like to mix a pound of this sausage with 1/4 C crushed ritz crackers, 1/3 C grated parmesan cheese and 1 whole egg to make to-die-for meatballs. Thank you so much for this recipe. I'll never need to buy ready made sausage again. Oh, I also made patties from the other pound of sausage and they were great on english muffins with some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerome, Idaho, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made this without the sugar and it was very good. Excellent sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Magna, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We live where we can not buy breakfast sausage. We can't always get the pork either but the recipe works great for ground chicken too. We do like an extra kick so we add a little more spice too. It really is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Turned out as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I find commercial sausage to be borderline nauseating, and have rarely found one I can eat more than two small servings of. The grease makes my stomach roll, and the inclusion of gristle and other odd-textured substances sets off my gag reflex a little too often. Consequently, hubby - who loves sausage - rarely gets sausage at home. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I used what meat I had on hand in the freezer, which was boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I ran it through our little grinder twice, with the spices, and put in the refrigerator overnight. Hubby came into the kitchen when I was cooking it up. I gave him a small cooked piece that had broken off a patty. His face lit up and he was fully prepared to get out the rest of the 6-pound bag of chicken thighs and make more sausage TODAY. lol I ate my full share, too, with no gagging or rolling stomach involved. We will be making bulk batches of this for freezing and will have sausage frequently from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made this sausage recipe numerous times, both with ground pork and ground turkey breast, and they are both delicious. I use it for sausage patties and also in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is a good recipe as is, but I used the second tome around ground chicken not pork and I doubled it and frozen it down to two patties in a bag. Just me here now. And this is a good way to keep sausage on hand for out of town visitor's that come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
We moved to Europe and I can't buy any healthy or even good tasting breakfast sausage here. I made this recipe with good quality local raised pork and it was lean and delicious. It was a bit salty for my taste, but that's easy to fix! So easy to make extra and freeze for future breakfasts. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States