Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is a good recipe as is, but I used the second tome around ground chicken not pork and I doubled it and frozen it down to two patties in a bag. Just me here now. And this is a good way to keep sausage on hand for out of town visitor's that come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzzenne Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
We moved to Europe and I can't buy any healthy or even good tasting breakfast sausage here. I made this recipe with good quality local raised pork and it was lean and delicious. It was a bit salty for my taste, but that's easy to fix! So easy to make extra and freeze for future breakfasts. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
this was very good , I will never buy store made sausage again I used pork butt , and saved money making my own . my husband loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a great basic recipe for a well-seasoned, fairly mild breakfast sausage. I've now made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly using pre-ground pork from my butcher. It was good but a bit dry. The second time, I ground my own pork using 2.5lbs pork shoulder and 1/2lb. added pork back fat. I also added 1/4 ice water to the mix. I reduced the brown sugar to 2 teaspoons but made no other changes to the seasonings. The taste and texture were perfect for my taste. The salt was fine for me and the red pepper gave it just a little kick without being too spicy for my family members who don't like spicy foods. The small amounts of marjoram and cloves enhanced the flavor of the sausage but weren't noticeable on their own. Of course, the beauty of making your own sausage is that it is so easy to adjust the seasonings to your personal taste. I suggest trying the recipe as written the first time you make it, but reserve 20% of the seasoning mix. Fry up a small sample piece and taste it then adjust the seasonings by adding the rest of the mix or adding individual seasonings as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I used sage sausage and this recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I took a fresh boneless shoulder and ground it (2 lbs), and made it to the recipe (doubling all qtys). Overall it came out very well balanced - a good place to start if you like your sausage more or less seasoned, EXCEPT for the salt. I recommend cutting the salt in 1/2 for the 1st try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have to say this is one of the best sausages I have had to date. I wouldn't change a thing. I adjusted the recipe up for a 7lb boston butt, and it really is savory, and the red pepper just adds flavor, not really much heat. I love how the brown sugar compliments the subtle heat at the end. Bravo, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cat_bui
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is the second time I use this recipe and it is amazing! I recommend seasoning the meat the night before and add an extra tsp of sage and majoram for more flavor. I used ground turkey and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Being a Georgia girl transplanted to Northern Ontario, I have been in a 10 year search for good breakfast sausage like I could get back home. I will search no more! I left out the sugar and cloves, because I don`t like sweet sausage and this was perfect without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States