Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a great basic recipe for a well-seasoned, fairly mild breakfast sausage. I've now made it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly using pre-ground pork from my butcher. It was good but a bit dry. The second time, I ground my own pork using 2.5lbs pork shoulder and 1/2lb. added pork back fat. I also added 1/4 ice water to the mix. I reduced the brown sugar to 2 teaspoons but made no other changes to the seasonings. The taste and texture were perfect for my taste. The salt was fine for me and the red pepper gave it just a little kick without being too spicy for my family members who don't like spicy foods. The small amounts of marjoram and cloves enhanced the flavor of the sausage but weren't noticeable on their own. Of course, the beauty of making your own sausage is that it is so easy to adjust the seasonings to your personal taste. I suggest trying the recipe as written the first time you make it, but reserve 20% of the seasoning mix. Fry up a small sample piece and taste it then adjust the seasonings by adding the rest of the mix or adding individual seasonings as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I used sage sausage and this recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I took a fresh boneless shoulder and ground it (2 lbs), and made it to the recipe (doubling all qtys). Overall it came out very well balanced - a good place to start if you like your sausage more or less seasoned, EXCEPT for the salt. I recommend cutting the salt in 1/2 for the 1st try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have to say this is one of the best sausages I have had to date. I wouldn't change a thing. I adjusted the recipe up for a 7lb boston butt, and it really is savory, and the red pepper just adds flavor, not really much heat. I love how the brown sugar compliments the subtle heat at the end. Bravo, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cat_bui
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is the second time I use this recipe and it is amazing! I recommend seasoning the meat the night before and add an extra tsp of sage and majoram for more flavor. I used ground turkey and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Being a Georgia girl transplanted to Northern Ontario, I have been in a 10 year search for good breakfast sausage like I could get back home. I will search no more! I left out the sugar and cloves, because I don`t like sweet sausage and this was perfect without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this recipe up last Saturday and tried it for Su nday brunch. AWESOME! The second batch I reduced the salt about 25%. Double AWESOME!! This recipe suits my taste perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Loved it! The only thing I did different was add 1 egg and a tbsp of fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Great flavor and made without all the garbage they put into store-bought sausage. I definitely think you get better results if you let the raw sausage mixture sit in the fridge at least overnight to let the flavors integrate. If I were to change anything, I would amp up the sage. I'll use this recipe every time I make sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
My husband loved these. It was my first attempt and I followed the recipe as written. Next time, I'll cut the recipe in 1/2 but this recipe is a keeper. It was very easy to put together. The only problem I had was it said to cook 5 minutes on each side. I almost burned them. I'll adjust the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States