Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I was skeptical that the seasonings on this recipe would be either much too mild to make the grind taste like anything other than ground pork or too sweet but this is a fantastic balance. I made it as is scaling up the recipe with my own ground pork grind (5lbs ground butt, 1 lb pork fat trimmings about 3/4 cups chopped fatty raw bacon.) I gave the meat and fat a grind together, mixed these spices in, then gave it another grind all using my coursest filter. The sausage is fantastic. Slightly sweet and well spiced I would call it a mild breakfast sausage with great flavor. If you wanted to up the heat I would increase the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I was skeptical that this would satisfy my sausage craving, but it really came though for me and it was wonderfully tasty! I am a life long Weight Watcher, and I am always looking for ways to modify tasty, high fat,unhealthy recipes and make them more suitable for my healthier eating efforts. This really fit the bill for me! I don't want to sound like one of those reviewers who changes everything in a recipe and basically makes a completely different recipe, but I will tell you how I made a few small changes. I used 93% ground turkey instead of pork and I was worried about this because I'm not a big turkey fan, but I thought the seasonings would give it enough flavor for me to get away with it and they did! I didn't have marjoram so I used poultry seasoning and I used 1/2 tsp for half the recipe. I also added more red pepper flakes as I like spicy food.I also upped the sage by 1/2 tsp. The amount of salt was perfect, I wouldn't touch it. Do not leave out the brown sugar or cloves, I think they really balanced the flavors in this for me. Everything else was the same for me. I also patted the mixture out onto waxed paper and used a biscuit cutter to make uniformly sized patties. I fried in a non-stick skillet and I didn't need any oil or spray, the fat in the meat was enough. These were delicious. I got two patties per serving with one leftover. I halved the recipe with no problem. I will freeze the leftovers and heat 'n eat as desired. Thank you for a real winner Lee Fogel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I never knew that making homemade sausage was so easy to do. My daughter loved it and that's what counts to me. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
2 thumbs up, very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great recipe. I cut the recipe in half. I did not have cloves so I added a touch of Chinese five spice seasoning. My whole family loved it! I'm thrilled for a healthier alternative to store bought pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Added double the pepper, 2T oil and some onion powder and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I added 50% more spices so that the flavor is more like breakfast sausage should be. I also added 1/8 cup water per pound to add moisture. The one thing I would do next time is to use an 80/20 meat to fat mix as a lean grind does not lend either flavor or juiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryMorgan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I was craving biscuits and gravy and unfortunately can't find this kind of sausage in the stores where I live. But there is plenty of ground pork, so I found this recipe! This is a good basic recipe, but it really depends where your tastes lie. I have made it several times, and found myself adding close to double the indicated seasonings. I also leave out marjoram (can't find it) and add garlic (everything is better with garlic). It's also good if you substitue maple syrup for the brown sugar (does change the texture a bit). A very good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Loved the herb balance in this, speedy to mix, too. We halved the salt and doubled the spice and it was perfect for us. We plan to make some slender patties ahead and freeze for cook-from-the-freezer breakfasts. Flavor is enhanced if you mix a few hours or a full day before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Troldahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good but a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States