Breakfast Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Made exactly as directed except used 1/2 fresh ground turkey. The spices are just to our taste, with a very nice zing! Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great Elk sausage! My dad and I decided to make elk sausage this year instead of having just stew meat. After endless attempts of finding an "elk specific" recipe that whet my palette, I decided to just go generic on the breakfast sausage. After reading all the reviews, I decided on this one... and wow! We weren't disappointed. Obviously because we were using wild game, we had to adjust the recipe. Here's what we did: Roughly 10 lbs of freshly trimmed elk meat, chilled 2 lbs pork shoulder 1 lbs pork back fat 2/3 cup sage 1/3 cup kosher salt (cut the ratio in half to the above recipe) 1/3 cup black pepper 1/12 of a cup marjoram 1 cup of sugar (cut the ratio in half to the above recipe) 1/6 cup of red pepper flakes A good sized pinch (probably 2 teaspoons of cloves) Ground the elk and the pork separately, then mixed all the seasonings and meat by hand in a large vat. We fried up a bit to make sure we weren't wrapping up 12+ pounds of unappetizing meat and were both very surprised! I think my dad liked it more than me... I would probably add a little more salt and a touch more red pepper flakes, but that's just may palette. Other than that, great recipe and I will definitely be using this recipe again! P.S. I like the idea of substituting cloves with anise seed. If I do that in the future, I'll be sure to let you guys know! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Been using this recipe for years and it's a favorite of our family. I always sub ground turkey for the pork and sometimes I'll replace the brown sugar with maple syrup. Seasonings are right on for my kiddos but for my hubby and I, I usually up the red pepper. Salty, sweet, spicy...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
The absolute best sausage recipe I've found. I always seem to be missing an ingredient or two. So this batch is short on sage, so I added a little tyme. I didn't have red pepper flake so I subbed a similar amount of ground red pepper. I also threw in a teaspoon of extra brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Excellent, so much for ready made store bought. Thanks for a simple but tasty reciepe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
this is a very nice sausage, not very spicy, perfect for those that can't do the spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Made this today, with the following additions: 1 tsp Poultry seasoning, 1 tsp garlic pwdr, 2 tsp onion pwdr, 1/2 lb salami ground with the pork, increased cloves to 1/4 tsp. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Omg!!! So simple. Soo yummy. No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Whalen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Like others who have commented, I was looking for a homemade breakfast sausage recipe and tried this one. The result was excellent. A great blend of spices, great texture, and taste. As I am only cooking for two of us, I froze the extra patties - they were easy to defrost and cook and tasted great. If you are looking for a delicious tasting, easy to make homemade breakfast sausage, I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Awesome! Exactly the flavor I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States