Breakfast Prune Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is so moist and delicious! I made half a recipe for six (6) jumbo muffins that baked perfectly at 350 deg F for 25 min. I replaced the shortening with a small cup of unsweetened apple sauce and 1 tblsp of coconut oil. I cut back on the sugar (which I normally do) by about 1/4 cup, using a combination of white and brown sugar and used 1 full tsp of vanilla. I also added the optional walnuts, plus 1 tblsp of ground flax seed. I topped the muffins with turbinado sugar and walnuts before baking which gave them a nice crunch. The spice amounts are spot-on for a delicious spice cake taste, but even better knowing there are prunes in this (but you would never know it)! I just had one with a hot cup of tea, and it was excellent! Thanks for a great recipe LauraT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Fortunately the kids who truly do not like prunes LOVE it. Thanks for this great recipe. With the shells of the walnuts I made my 'hair-paint' at the same time. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a terrific recipe. Super moist and delicious! It makes a lot. I don't have a 9" tube pan, so mine ended up in two 9" round pans, plus the extra in a bread pan. I baked all three at once for 30 minutes. Also, to stew prunes easily, try one of these methods: 1) Put them in a pan, cover with water, and simmer on low for 20-ish minutes, or until they look plump. 2) Put them in a container, cover them with water, and leave them in the fridge overnight. You can also add a touch of lemon juice to either method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is a slightly different version of a recipe that was passed down from my grandma. I use 2 9 inch round pans and ice with the following recipe: 4 tablespoons butter melted, 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice, juice from the stewed prunes, confectioners sugar and cinnamon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pitterpat
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My husband and I love this cake! It is moist and delicious as well as beautiful. I like to change recipes to make them healthier, so for the fat, I used 1/2 cup unsalted butter, about 1/4 cup coconut oil and about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. For the flour, I used a mixture of white wheat grain, oats and flax that I ground in my VitaMix. I used brown sugar and baked in a large bundt cake pan (see photo above). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was the first time I have ever tried prune cake and I was delighted! I will use this one a lot. It is wonderful with herbal tea. Thank you, LauraT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
this is a very good cake moist and the taste is outstanding. I put a glaze on mine yum. My glaze was butter lemon and orange juice sugar and powder sugar did not measure but you should be able to figure it out. I used 1cup of white sugar and a half of a cup of brown sugar and i used a teaspoon of orange extract with the vanilla in the cake batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Oh fuss and bother..."fat content"? don"t eat so much and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I thought the fat content was too high. Next time, I will try using applesauce instead. This time, I used whole wheat flour and yogurt instead of ap flour and buttermilk. the family enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States