Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You can't deny the healthy aspects of this recipe. The only thing I might note is that flax seed needs to be cracked before eating. If you don't, it passes through the body without releasing any of it's wonderful omega's. I use an ordinary small coffee grinder that I keep exclusively for spices. At any rate, this is a very versatile recipe. The prunes and raisins can be replaced with your favorite fruit or nuts almost in infinite combinations. I was thinking this is a great take to work recipe. Just add hot water from the tap at the coffee machine and microwave for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Reading over the recipe I realized that I did not specific the need to grind the flax seed first. Sorry! I use about a tbs of GROUND flax seed or flax seed meal. Thanks for clarifying that Brenda:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It is always best to grind the flax seed so that your stomach can digest the wonderful fibre that it has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I like this recipe, it's a great quick porridge for some variety other than standard oatmeal. I didn't expect the ingredients to make a thick porridge, but it's great. I heat the water & fruit in the microwave for one minute and stir in the dry stuff. I skip the honey and I top mine with non-dairy creamer for a delicious sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
An excellent quick and very nutrient dense breakfast. I made it exactly as the recipe recommended, except I also ground the flax seeds. It is a very "comforting" morning meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Very simple to prepare and it tastes good. We are having it about 3 mornings a week. Thanks for sharing, I'll do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Full of fiber and a very filling breakfast, although I have to admit that I fixed this for dinner one night while the family ordered pizza. I didn't want to blow my healthy eating routine and am glad I fixed this delicious dish. I added 3 prunes and no raisins, but I can see that anything can be put into this recipe-dried cranberries, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this for breakfast using what I had on hand….ground flax seed, oat bran, raisins, dried apricots, and oatmeal. I liked it with a lot of milk and my grown son liked his with a generous amount of honey. The recipe adds variety to my morning menu and it is quick and easy to prepare. I will make again including the other ingredients in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This wasn't bad, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
None of us liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Breakfast Rounds

Simple toasted English muffins with apples, peanut butter, and cinnamon glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States