Breakfast Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You can't deny the healthy aspects of this recipe. The only thing I might note is that flax seed needs to be cracked before eating. If you don't, it passes through the body without releasing any of it's wonderful omega's. I use an ordinary small coffee grinder that I keep exclusively for spices. At any rate, this is a very versatile recipe. The prunes and raisins can be replaced with your favorite fruit or nuts almost in infinite combinations. I was thinking this is a great take to work recipe. Just add hot water from the tap at the coffee machine and microwave for a minute or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Reading over the recipe I realized that I did not specific the need to grind the flax seed first. Sorry! I use about a tbs of GROUND flax seed or flax seed meal. Thanks for clarifying that Brenda:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It is always best to grind the flax seed so that your stomach can digest the wonderful fibre that it has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I like this recipe, it's a great quick porridge for some variety other than standard oatmeal. I didn't expect the ingredients to make a thick porridge, but it's great. I heat the water & fruit in the microwave for one minute and stir in the dry stuff. I skip the honey and I top mine with non-dairy creamer for a delicious sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
An excellent quick and very nutrient dense breakfast. I made it exactly as the recipe recommended, except I also ground the flax seeds. It is a very "comforting" morning meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Very simple to prepare and it tastes good. We are having it about 3 mornings a week. Thanks for sharing, I'll do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
None of us liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This wasn't bad, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Full of fiber and a very filling breakfast, although I have to admit that I fixed this for dinner one night while the family ordered pizza. I didn't want to blow my healthy eating routine and am glad I fixed this delicious dish. I added 3 prunes and no raisins, but I can see that anything can be put into this recipe-dried cranberries, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I made this for breakfast using what I had on hand….ground flax seed, oat bran, raisins, dried apricots, and oatmeal. I liked it with a lot of milk and my grown son liked his with a generous amount of honey. The recipe adds variety to my morning menu and it is quick and easy to prepare. I will make again including the other ingredients in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States