Breakfast Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These were good, however it turned into a FIASCO! What ever you do, do not use "Grands" as your biscuit dough. They rose so much that the egg mixture spilled over the sides & burnt on the bottom of the oven. I love the idea, and next time will bake them in individual remikins. Thanks Jeanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
822 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Belt
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
These are pretty good! I made them for my husband and I to have something quick in the morning before he heads off to work. It's nice to be able to have something hpt and hearty tasting without the mess of cleaning up breakfast dishes first thing in the morning! I made mine with a smaller amount of hot italian sausage (maybe 1/4 pound) to cut back on the fat and calories and I used a tube of eight "flaky layer" biscuits and used only about 3/4 of a biscuit rolled out for each one so I ended up with 12 "pies", and increased the eggs to 4. I also omitted the onion and green peppers and added a little black pepper and onion powder to the egg mixture. They turned out great!! This a great recipe because you can custom make them however your family likes their eggs! A sprinkle of tabasco sauce on top, and we've got breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol A.
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
LOVE THESE! I appreciate how customizable this recipe is. After reading other reviews, I decided to try using my own biscuits versus the refrigerated type. I’d never done this before, but I mixed dough for one batch of biscuits using a ready-made biscuit mix. I kneaded it together in a big lump, rolled it out, and tore off 11 palm-sized chunks-I rolled them into balls and then flattened them into the cups on my muffin pan, using a spoon to create sort of a well inside my dough cups. I decided to use sage sausage as my sausage mixture without the other veggies-and made the rest of the recipe per the instructions. Used a glass pyrex measuring cup to pour eggs into the muffin cups. Turned out beautifully! We’ve refrigerated the leftover pies and discovered that a 10 second zap in the microwave does the trick for those. Fun, delicious recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I made this tonight for my MOPS group tomorrow morning and I almost thought I was going to have to pick something up from the grocery store! I followed recipe exactly and the muffins spilled over to the bottom of my oven and my whole house filled with smoke! My husband and I split one and I will be taking them tomorrow morning. If I do make these again, I might try using pie crust. It won't puff up as much and spill out all the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it several times now - different variations each time. One thing I use differently is I use croissant dough instead of biscuit dough. Depending if I use my 6 muffin or 12 muffin tin... then I will either use one croissant traingle for the 6 muffin...or cut one triangle in half for 2 of the cups in the 12 muffin tin. I have also used egg beaters several times and those turn out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I would like to give this recipe at least 5 stars for "Kid Friendly" My daycare kids loved these. I did change the recipe since kids usually don't like onions and peppers, I used bacon, ham and sausage. Yummmmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Basic concept is great. The biscuits tend to get tough when rolled out again - but my 15-month-old loved gumming them. I used leftover ham from Christmas dinner with green onion and spinach as a filling (ANYTHING to get her to eat some vegetables). She LOVED it. I had two for dinner and I froze the rest for her. I would suggest either making the biscuit dough from scratch to keep the texture soft or using pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I make these every Easter for brunch, and they are a huge hit! Leftovers reheat nicely too. I recommend using the larger muffin pans (the kind that you make 6 jumbo muffins in). That way, they don't overflow and you can add in extra toppings. You will need to increase bake time though... Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Thanks Jeanne, these came out very nice. Helps to let the biscuits sit out a couple minutes so they're easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made my own turkey breakfast sausage for this recipe. I also increase the amounts of the onion and bell pepper plus I added a few cloves of fresh minced garlic. This was a fun recipe to make--quicker than I thought it would be, though I think for us, it was more suited for kids than adults. The different combinations you could make as "fillings" would be fun to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States