Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
OH MY GOSH These are so good!! My hubby loves Kolaches and I have been looking at recipes but they all seemed so time consuming. These were so EASY to make, my husband said if he didn't see me do it he would of swore I spent all day making these :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe. We will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Great flavor. My family loved them. Just make sure you don't make the dough balls too large. I did and so mine turned out to be more dough than filling. Next time I'll try basting with melted butter while they bake as another reviewer suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I had kolaches in the airport a few weeks ago. I'd never heard of them but my dad raved so I bought a few different varieties to try. They were wonderful!!! They are really really close to those. Thank you!!! The sweetness in the dough is what makes them worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I found the directions for these to be a little vague. Having randomly stumbled upon this recipe, I decided to try it, never having seen actual kolaches before.In the end, I had to search around on the internet for better directions for assembling them. I found it easier to roll the sausages up like pigs in a blanket rather than just placing them on the centre of the dough. Good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
These are awesome! My husband wants these every weekend. I too tasted my first kolache in Texas and have been looking for this recipe for over 10+years. I also used the whole sausage and a little more sugar they taste just like I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOWLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is the best recipe I have ever tried from this website. This recipe was so easy to make. Instead of halving the sausages, I made my dough balls slightly bigger and used the whole sausage. I also did not use the hash browns. These tasted just as good as the ones I buy at the bakery. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I am from Texas and live in California now. I have not found any kolaches around here. *gasp* I made this recipe and they turned out pretty darn good. I didn't add the hash browns, although I am sure it would have been a tasty addition. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Being a Houston Texas girl, I didn't realize that Kolaches were a regional treat. I thought everyone was able to enjoy this delicious breakfast food until I read these reviews. The Kolaches from this recipe taste just as good as the ones from my favorite Kolache shop. We wrap the dough around lil smokies and sometimes cheese stuffed jalapenos. They're the best breakfast or midnight snack that you'll ever find! I don't have a bread machine so I just make them as I would any other yeast bread..they turn out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This is the best recipe. The kolaches taste exactly like the ones you buy at the bakery. Everyone raved about them. I made them the night before and baked them in the morning. I am going to make them Christmas Eve and send them home with the kids, so they can pop them in the oven Christmas morning and have hot kolaches. Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
My husband fell in love with Kolaches when we visited Houston -- the kolaches from this recipe are even better. We make them at least one Saturday morning a month. We stuff them with just sausage links (like the sausage rolls at the donut shop, Wranglers cheese & jalapeno sausages are the best -- but spicy!) and cheese (we thought the hashbrowns got a little mushy the first time so we skip them now). They are great for breakfast for the rest of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States