Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My favorite so far! I normally use crescent rolls to wrap the sausages in, but this was so much better. I didn't have a bread machine so I mixed the sugar, milk and yeast together and added it to the dry mix (I added the butter to the dry mix right before I added yeast mixture). I then let in rise for an hour or two. Then wrapped the little smokies with a small piece of dough, let rise again for 15 min. and then baked for 16 min. I think I'm going to use this dough for dinner rolls from now on...its just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
AWESOME. Finally made these, didn't have the potatoe flakes but they still came out GREAT! I filled them with sausage and cheese, and others with jelly and folded them up like a dumpling, let them rise, the baked to perfection!! My neighbors think I'm a chef now. heheheh .. THANKS! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is one of those recipes I use a lot and have never reviewed. Do yourself a favor and wrap this dough around your favorite smoked sausage! I do spicy/hot/jalapeño/hot links for grown ups and Little Smokies and Eckrich Smok*y Links for the kiddos. Fantastic! Keep them in the freezer and zap for a quick on the go breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The bread for these was fantastic! Just what I was looking for. I made these into a Texas-style kolache by cookie up some lil' smokies and wrapping the dough around the sausage and a bit of cheddar cheese before baking. The filling popped out of some of the kolaches, but they were super-tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made two kinds of these, strawberry and mango. Strawberry wansn't so good, but mango was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
the main problem I had with this recipe seemed to be the baking temperature, as the bottoms of the buns were burned. I would likely try this again with a lower baking temperature next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Thank you Melissa!!! I just cannot tell you how excited I am to have this recipe. I am sitting here eating one, and ohhhh it is so good! I did make a few changes.. I did the dough just like the recipe says - it was perfect. I didn't have any smokies, so I used ground sausage and shaped it into little smoky shapes and cooked it while the dough was making. Once my dough was done, I did the ball thing with no problem and instead of waiting 15 min. I went ahead and flattened them and put the sausage on it with a little piece of velveeta. Then I rolled them up and let them sit the 15 minutes on the greased baking pan. Baked to perfection in 10 minutes. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I wish I could give it more stars. This is better than any that you can buy. I have made this about a dozen times and they always turn out great. I have stuffed them with pizza filling, sauages, and boudin so far and everyone raves!!!Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These were just OK. Maybe it was the sausage that I used but the dough had a wang to it. They ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Finally, a recipe for kolaches the way I loved having them in Texas! These are great. I make two changes - I don't add potatoes (have never heard of that before), and I wrap the dough around the sausage and cheese rather than making the indentation. Excellent recipe - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States