Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe, but I almost didn't try it after reading some of the reviews. But I was really interested so I read the entire recipe, and I found where others had made a big mistake The original recipe was for 36 Kolaches, so that is what the directions are based on, but the ingredients section has been changed for 18 servings (us) We used the dough split in half and made 9 breakfast kolaches and 9 fruit kolaches and it was wonderful. we baked the desert ones the same day and stored the breakfast ones in the fridge for the next morning and they were amazing. when you truly read the entire recipe you will have fantastic results that are so yummy. Thank You Melissa V
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
OMG!!! I think I've died and gone to Texas heaven! I now live on a remote island, about 30 miles off the coast of Northern Vancouver Island, in British Columbia, Canada...... Talk about a long way from Houston, Texas! I've asked around about Kolaches and nobody has heard of them within 500 miles! LOL!! These taste just like Kolaches from home! (P.S. they just came out of the oven and I can't stop eating them!) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These were great. If you don't have a bread machine, you have to use two packets of yeast. I filled with scrambled eggs, cheese and jalapenos, made them into little, or not so little, balls and baked. Rancheros all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This has become my go to recipe for all sorts of rolls. I did make a few tweaks to the recipe: I added 2 whole eggs instead of the 1 egg and 1 yolk and I found I had to increase the flour to 4 cups. I also roll out the little dough balls and brush them with olive oil or butter before I put in my stuffing ingredients. My whole family asks me to make these every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were pretty yummy and authentic, but I made some changes to suit our diet and palate. I like mine to be a litlle bit more sweet and healthier at the same time. I subbed the 3 cups of bread flour with 2 cups WHOLE WHEAT bread flour and 1 cup reg. bread flour. Then, instead of 1/4 cup sugar, I made it 1/2 cup sugar. I filled it with only fully-cooked sausage and cheese, no hashed browned potatoes. Also, the recipe didn't have very detailed instructions in the end on how to fill and roll these, so unless you know what a kolache looks likes, I can see where people get confused. I would make a golf-sized ball with floured hands (it can be quite sticky) and put it on a floured surface. Flatten out the ball and use a wooden roller to roll it out into a circle about 3/8" or about 1 cm thick. In the center of the circle, place the filling (savory filling in this case if the filling will be INSIDE the kolache) and take one end of circle, fold over the filling and roll. Pinch the ends close and fold over seam. Place the kolache seam-size down on parchment paper on a baking sheet.They should resemble an oblong short, hot-dog bun. Alternatively, you can make it look like little round dinner rolls as well depending on type of filling you're using. I have also seen a sweet filling on top of the dough, resembling a more of a danish. You can try all kinds of fillings, which is why kolaches are so great - bacon and eggs, goat cheese and spinach, ham, egg and cheese, etc, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I'd never eated Kolaches before, so I have nothing to compare them with, but they were a keeper. Tried them with sausage, cheese, and hot peppers, and also apple pie filling. Was surprised that the same dough was so good both ways. Use just a bit of confectioner's sugar glaze on the sweet ones. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe several times, but I can never seem to get the bread to come out just right. I don't have a bread machine either. I prefer softer bread so I think that I will try to find a softer bread recipe. If anyone has any suggestions they would be appreciated. I use Johnsonville Beddar Cheddar sausages and they work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe as is. For those of you who are curious about what kolaches are like, they are sort of a biscuit with a filling inside. The only thing is that the number of dough balls is an overestimate. I usually get 18-20 balls per batch of dough. I use lil' smokies (the precooked sausage) inside mine. I let them get to room temp before I wrap them up in the balls of dough. Occasionally I will put 1/4 of a square of American Cheese inside. Canned pie filling can be used for a sweet version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
10 Star recipe! I grew up in Texas and can attest that this is a GREAT kolache recipe. I can't wait to make the dough again and just make into rolls as it is the best "roll" recipe I have found. I used Johnsonville Cheddar Sausages, cut in half, and used 1/2 in each roll. I made the rolls into oblong pieces rather than balls. I've never had hashbrowns in a kolache so I didn't even think of putting them in. Also, I made only 12 rolls instead of 18. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
5 stars for wonderful bread minus 1 star for incomplete directions. The sausage needs to be cooked sausage and the hash browns are better if you precook them also. I cut my dough into 12 pieces, rolled each into a small tortilla size circle, put a 1/4 slice of cheese some crumbled,cooked sausage, then hash browns. Pinched the dough up tight, then a small twist to seal well then bake twist side down. They come out about the size of a hamburger bun. Only took 15 min. to cook. The bread is the best runza, cabbage burger, kolaches bread I have tried so far!!!! Is great with cooked apples, walnut, cinnamon filling instead of the meat filling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoMouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States