Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
ok...Like another reviewer said earlier - when I actually got down to making this - the instructions had a lot of holes in it... Unless perhaps you have made Kolaches and know a bit about the results in advance.. For example...Is the sausage supposed to be cooked?? Raw???. Silly me...I made it with uncooked links and it turned out gross with everything melted on top of raw meat. I could only fit a teaspoon of hash browns in them if I made the bals the size instructed to make them! So we cooked them and tried again..My daughter and I burst out laughing at the amount we could fit on this little bit of dough... "ok..and you can have one teaspoon of potato on yours!" I could not ...get THAT many balls out of the recipe and had even doubled each piece and still there was no room to stuff them. Was I even suppossed to stuff them or leave the stuff on top. We tried it both ways..because we did not know. I wondered if by chance I was shaping them incorrectly. I too eventually went to the internet in an attempt to find a picture Too vague and for me this meant an eventual flop which never got to the table. I finally got tired of trying to make this work and what should have been my Christmas Morning Masterpiece ended up in the garbage on Christmas Eve... a total waste of ingredients and time. I will not make this again without clearer instructions! I guessed wrong! I think?? Sorry - I am usually not this hard on the recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is almost identical to the one I use, with the exception of mine calling for water and dry milk vs. warm milk. For those of you having trouble, it may help you to have tried or even seen a kolache before. There are different types, some with fruit typically place on top of the dough and baked, and the breakfast type filled with sausage, ham, cheese, etc. "Filled" being the key word here. The way I do it is: I cut the dough after getting out of the bread maker into 12 equal pieces. I then flaten into oblong shapes, brush with melted butter, and stuff with sausage & cheese (whatever fillings). I use american cheese and smoked breakfast sausage links (smoked meaning already cooked) that I usually find at Kroger. Close the rolls and pinch the openings shut as best as you can. Then brush tops with more melted butter and bake. Being a native Houstonian, this is as close as I've been able to come to the real thing offered at every donut shop in Texas after having to move to Alabama. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondjuls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I too moved from Texas and never thought I'd ever have Kolaches again in Washington State. When I found this recipe - I was so excited and even more elated to find out how Yummy they were! The dough is as sweet as the Kolaches back in Houston and I can't believe how easy it is to make the dough in my bread machine. Now everytime we have guests, I make these. The instructions for making the dough the night before work like a charm! I stuff mine with Lil Smokies in place of the hash browns, cheese and sausage (glorified pigs-in-the-blanket I know, but those were my favorite kind of kolaches back in Texas). I also brush them with melted butter 2/3 of the way through the cooking. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I didn't have a bread machine so I used my kitchenaid mixer, the kind that can probably take over the world some day. I ended up with a franken recipe from that manual which goes as follow: I heated the milk, sugar, and butter on low heat until it was dissolved/melted. Per my franken recipe instructions I mixed dry ingredients together (-1/2 cup flour) and then added liquids gradually. Last I slowly added the rest of the flour. It turned out really well. I formed the dough balls and let those sit overnight in the fridge, but I probably should have made them up until the point they are popped in the oven because it kinda had a weird crust the next day. Still turned out good, but if you are preparing them for overnight storage make sure you fold in the fillings before they siesta in the frig. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My favorite so far! I normally use crescent rolls to wrap the sausages in, but this was so much better. I didn't have a bread machine so I mixed the sugar, milk and yeast together and added it to the dry mix (I added the butter to the dry mix right before I added yeast mixture). I then let in rise for an hour or two. Then wrapped the little smokies with a small piece of dough, let rise again for 15 min. and then baked for 16 min. I think I'm going to use this dough for dinner rolls from now on...its just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
After moving from Texas to New Jersey I was afraid I'd never find these again. The first time I saw this I knew I had to make them. They are wonderful! I didn't use the hashbrowns and used shreded cheddar in place of the sliced cheddar (since I had it in the fridge already).My family and several family friends devoured these in minutes. Great to make ahead and store for a day or two in the fridge. I microwaved them for 20 seconds each & they were like great! If you are ever planning a brunch, you really should add these to the menu! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were pretty yummy and authentic, but I made some changes to suit our diet and palate. I like mine to be a litlle bit more sweet and healthier at the same time. I subbed the 3 cups of bread flour with 2 cups WHOLE WHEAT bread flour and 1 cup reg. bread flour. Then, instead of 1/4 cup sugar, I made it 1/2 cup sugar. I filled it with only fully-cooked sausage and cheese, no hashed browned potatoes. Also, the recipe didn't have very detailed instructions in the end on how to fill and roll these, so unless you know what a kolache looks likes, I can see where people get confused. I would make a golf-sized ball with floured hands (it can be quite sticky) and put it on a floured surface. Flatten out the ball and use a wooden roller to roll it out into a circle about 3/8" or about 1 cm thick. In the center of the circle, place the filling (savory filling in this case if the filling will be INSIDE the kolache) and take one end of circle, fold over the filling and roll. Pinch the ends close and fold over seam. Place the kolache seam-size down on parchment paper on a baking sheet.They should resemble an oblong short, hot-dog bun. Alternatively, you can make it look like little round dinner rolls as well depending on type of filling you're using. I have also seen a sweet filling on top of the dough, resembling a more of a danish. You can try all kinds of fillings, which is why kolaches are so great - bacon and eggs, goat cheese and spinach, ham, egg and cheese, etc, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I am delighted to find this recipe. I bought the hash browns but couldn't get them to stay on the dough, so I just put them back in the freezer. Besides, I never had them in the kolaches back home in Texas. Next time I'll cut the cheese in 'sticks' and wrap the dough around the cheese and sausage. I used the little smokies as some other reviewers suggested and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe, but I almost didn't try it after reading some of the reviews. But I was really interested so I read the entire recipe, and I found where others had made a big mistake The original recipe was for 36 Kolaches, so that is what the directions are based on, but the ingredients section has been changed for 18 servings (us) We used the dough split in half and made 9 breakfast kolaches and 9 fruit kolaches and it was wonderful. we baked the desert ones the same day and stored the breakfast ones in the fridge for the next morning and they were amazing. when you truly read the entire recipe you will have fantastic results that are so yummy. Thank You Melissa V
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I modified the recipe slightly by using bulk sausage andadding scrambled eggs to it. My husband and I have breakfast at my in-laws every Sunday and these were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States